JCF Kills Man Over a Spliff

Mr.President,I am into symbolism when it is all we have.
    Had the incident of the mentally challenged man that was beated to death for not following the security detail instructions today,chances are someone would go to prison.So Indecom,hampered by a limited staff,has made the difference....
    Indecom is by far a greater deterrent ...to abusive officers than JFJ.
    In fact,if I was to choose......

Just???
      HL,it annoys me to see youngsters exposing there underpants but I object to it becoming a law enforcement issue.The reason is given history,we parents desire limiting contacts officers have eith our children for fear of subsequent abuse.
      He was killed over a spliff,beyond the surface of it HL.

I suspect you are alluding to X's views on the role the JFJ played in the indoctrination of our youngsters(activities that are being examined legal minds...).
        What should be revisted is YOUR views on weed being a himan rights issue,how you felt about that then and now.....
        Nothing mitgates that costly oversight.

Well it shows that he became a target...

Indeed.Ifyou have a chice of someone you would like to witness a crime it has to be a police officer.As a child I remember being told sey 11duppy doan walk together.The idea is there has to be at least one decent person in a rowdy gang.The JCF defies that,where is the evidence of that one worthy officer on duty...?

Poor Q, I hope him nuh sink into despondency!

him seh fi hail unno up!

Indecom is by far a greater deterrent ...to abusive officers than JFJ.
                In fact,if I was to choose......
                Perfect societies have no use for human rights organisations. The more the state looks away when it commits a crime, the more vigilant our human rights bodies need to be.

So, INDECOM is a welcome addition to the struggle against state terrorism. If it renders the JFJ obsolete as it relates to abuses by our police, then great, especially with such a fine person at the helm. But INDECOM's mandate is narrow.

Disagree with that totally be it he was arrested for being a pedophile ,tief or murderer ,it was a mitigating factor and it had some bearing in putting him in that position to be dealt with under prejudicial bias.

It nuh black and white,it grey.

Poetic : Independence day ganja murder.

ROSEMOUNT, St James — The National Security and Justice ministers have asked the Attorney General to explore the possibility of having persons kept out of jail for possessing small portions of ganja, prior to the passing of relevant legislation

This comes after the Independence Day's controversial death of 31-year-old construction worker Mario Deanes who was brutally beaten while in custody at the Barnett Street Police Station after being held with a ganja spliff in his Rosemount community, Sunday morning.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ganja_17322811
                  Last edited by Sir X; August 8, 2014, 08:59 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Whenever the parochial minded are up in arms.. it is usually a good thing..

Moving from 'police harassers' to b a t t y m a n defenders.. doing their job !

Yuh can choose now... where was your choice in the previous 12 years.. ?

Yuh lucky..

Its embarrasing after all these years , they are admitting the cost out weigh the meager ,stingy, stupid benefits of feel good elitism, on independence day afta a man dead,Wi doing the commonsense ting,poor H.L.

Bwaaaay wi nuh narmal.An anectode, we have a family friend big in UWI , whose family were ganja farmers another one(family) that used to run GC foster whose family was in the ganja business.

The question I ask is how many in the upper echoleons had said contacts.

The hypocrisy, is mind boggling...i will deny any association to this ,out of my hypocritical duty to family and friends..lol.
                        Last edited by Sir X; August 8, 2014, 09:27 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The Hypercryte speaks

The fine for a spliff is $100, is that the value this Government is putting on poor people’s lives? The government must not use its high level of arrogance and ignore the cries for justice from the family.”

“We ask all Jamaicans to stand with [the] family of Mario Deane in their quest for justice, and the removal of the controversial very high bunk beds from Police lock ups. Additionally, this Government must move to better equip our police and police stations,” said Montague.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...ue-tells-gov-t

If the JFJ was on actuality ineffective then who really nenefited from it becoming The human Rights group?I would argue Gomes did and that is evident by her current employment.
                            What did the emergence of the JFJ do to other human rights groups?

Placing things in correct perspective is entirely different from choosing Gomes over the JFJ.

Death is sooooo final,ergo fighting a murder charge is faaar more nervy than most charges.
                                Q(from the get go)stated our problem is not absence of appropriate laws but non commitment to enforcing existing ones.
                                Gomes bypassing the vetted process was anything but strict adherence to the laws....
                                Would the switch to prioritizing the homosexual angenda helped to deter the murder of the man?
                                Caught napping.
                                Last edited by Rockman; August 8, 2014, 11:33 AM.