Bruce Golding insists his policies aren’t unrealistic

• Bruce Golding insists his policies aren’t unrealistic

Leader of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), Bruce Golding, has sought to put his package of campaign promises firmly into perspective.

At the Area Council One meeting of the JLP, Mr. Golding admitted to party faithfuls that he sometimes loses patience with questions relating to the affordability of some of the programmes his administration plans to carry out if his party wins the General Election.

Only Sunday night, People’s National Party President Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller reiterated her party's claim that the JLP promises were unrealistic.

It is also a sentiment regularly expressed by Finance Minister Dr. Omar Davies.

But Sunday Mr. Golding hit back at the Government, declaring that he was not making any wild or unrealistic commitment.

He argued that the Government's failure to find the funds to finance free secondary education and health care speaks volumes about its lack of regard for the poor.

The JLP Leader said the Government has funded Air Jamaica to the tune of two billion dollars annually and spent over nine billion dollars on Cricket World Cup, but finds it difficult to envisage a Government spending $750 million to ensure that each Jamaican receives free health care.

He accused the Portia Simpson Miller administration of trying to play catch up with its decision to abolish health fees for children.

Mr. Golding argued that funds to fill the gap created in the budget by the additional costs to finance his plans can easily be garnered from measures to save billions of tax payers' dollars that are wasted each year.

And Mr. Golding says the JLP will not make the same mistake it made in the last election when it rained heavily.

Many persons had speculated that the results would have been different had it not rained.

According to Mr. Golding, the party was not adequately organised for Election Day in 2002.

To this end he says the party is in the process of establishing a sophisticated Election Day strategy.

Bruce continue to make the mistake ... thinking that the Jamaican electorate is "sophisticated" according to Garnett Roper. Bruce need fi see that people not interested in what him affi say. Man that consider himself a comrade will swear that the sun rises in the west just not to agree with the JLP.

Look at Jawge ... him mek up noise bout education all along and as soon as him see who more serious about education him change him tune.

What a RAHSS when Haiti pass we. As the comrades love chant, "Logon to Progress!"

Why suh much idiot end up pon our island? Damn!
    Last edited by Lazie; May 29, 2007, 10:45 AM.

My my how the times have changed;
      the JLP is just doing all it can for the poor of Jamaica. The more you live the more you learn. I guess the JLP is going to see to it that all the poor across the island is highly educated (for free too), that's hard deal to pass up.The hard thing for me is; why now (Granted the makeup of the party is basically the same). Anyway as they say "better late than never".

My my how the times have changed;
        the JLP is just doing all it can for the poor of Jamaica. The more you live the more you learn. I guess the JLP is going to see to it that all the poor across the island is highly educated (for free too), that's hard deal to pass up.The hard thing for me is; why now (Granted the makeup of the party is basically the same). Anyway as they say "better late than never".
        Poor across the island? Di man dem say tuition free education for primary and secondary students. Stop the reaching ... obviously yuh nuh have nothing fi oppose it, just willing fi form the fool.

[i]The hard thing for me is; why now (Granted the makeup of the party is basically the same).[i/]

Whatever that means.

JAwge, between 1972 and 2007 there has been one party that has been holding the country back. How you comrades sleep a night knowing that because of your stupidity, we're now the laughing stock of the Caribbean?

Poor across the island? Di man dem say tuition free education for primary and secondary students. Stop the reaching ... obviously yuh nuh have nothing fi oppose it, just willing fi form the fool.

[i]The hard thing for me is; why now (Granted the makeup of the party is basically the same).[i/]

Whatever that means.

JAwge, between 1972 and 2007 there has been one party that has been holding the country back. How you comrades sleep a night knowing that because of your stupidity, we're now the laughing stock of the Caribbean?
          Before going to bed they play old footage of Michael Manley.. dem sleep like a baby...

between 1972 and 2007? now who is
            playing the fool? The very social revolution that enables you to be posting
            on the modern marvel of contemporary times. You are knocking it? Did you know that prior to 1972 you could not stay at any of the hotels that had tourists? Yuh tink yuh could ah open bizniz (you mi talking) I was told that people had to swear on the bible that they are JLP to see a popular doctor in Mobay. Man juss say thanks an nuh badda come wid yuh tripe or you can walk around the island and help with the apology team.

between 1972 and 2007? now who is
              playing the fool? The very social revolution that enables you to be posting
              on the modern marvel of contemporary times. You are knocking it? Did you know that prior to 1972 you could not stay at any of the hotels that had tourists? Yuh tink yuh could ah open bizniz (you mi talking) I was told that people had to swear on the bible that they are JLP to see a popular doctor in Mobay. Man juss say thanks an nuh badda come wid yuh tripe or you can walk around the island and help with the apology team.
              (you mi talking)

Really? The funny thing is you say it as if you making some ground breaking point! I tell my parents thanks all the time, mi nuh need you fi tell me that! Why mi couldn't stay inna hotel? Why mi couldn't own a business? You all come with some stupid arguments at times.

List all the PMs we've had to date.

aah so now I know, you were born after the
                social revolution took place. Boss then all yuh haff to say is thank you Joshua. Everything look real easy now don't? YUH CAN JUSS CALL UP ANY HOTEL AN BOOK A ROOM.Yuh can go with your proposal for a business with confidence. Go do your research my friend, a price was paid for it, now that you are ablle to read they have figures fooling you.

aah so now I know, you were born after the
                  social revolution took place. Boss then all yuh haff to say is thank you Joshua. Everything look real easy now don't? YUH CAN JUSS CALL UP ANY HOTEL AN BOOK A ROOM.Yuh can go with your proposal for a business with confidence. Go do your research my friend, a price was paid for it, now that you are ablle to read they have figures fooling you.
                  Yuh playing hop scotch now Jawge. What social revolution? From a path to prosperity to the path of Democratic Socialism? Yet I must thank Joshua? Slap yuhself! You always come wid some trivial 5hit! Yes ... trivial.

People nuh have means for employment and you a talk bout Doctors Cave beach and guh a hotel? Were you dropped on yuh head as a child? Or did you go to the dentist this morning?

Yuh see fi yuh, mi sorry say
                    Joshua did what he did. Mek yuh born inna it an see it.Cause truss mi it would ah run so to this day. But no Joshua fight fi mek everbaddy go school an carry on as dem like. yeah man is 5hit mi talking. Go on with party, tourin the island and apologizing. BTW you should ask the elders why are they making so much apologies? (or ask the rastas).

Yuh see fi yuh, mi sorry say
                      Joshua did what he did. Mek yuh born inna it an see it.Cause truss mi it would ah run so to this day. But no Joshua fight fi mek everbaddy go school an carry on as dem like. yeah man is 5hit mi talking. Go on with party, tourin the island and apologizing. BTW you should ask the elders why are they making so much apologies? (or ask the rastas).
                      Amazingly the sun is still shining we agree on one thing. "mi sorry say
                      Joshua did what he did." Can you imagine what could have been?

Yes, you would not be here posting
                        on the world wide web.

Yes, you would not be here posting
                          on the world wide web.
                          Speak fi yuhself! Unuh all trying to find some reason fi mek Joshua a hero! Since yuh cyaan name the PMs todate, who was Hugh Lawson Shearer?

No I can boldly speak for you;
                            again you would not be posting on the world wide web. Shearer? man don't make me laugh. As I said just say thanks. Ask elder Labourite Sass, if you would be here posting (had it not been for Joshua) ask Sass if you a black man could dare say you want a loan to open a business (prior to 1972) ask sass about the hotels that you now take for granted.

Which developing countries sacrificed 33% of the GDP to provide Adult Literacy and ensure that we could use computers today and book a hotel room ?

List them.

I keep telling you in the 60's black people could not vote in American (where blacks are still a minority by the way)