Four years late but....give thanks it is finally open

• Four years late but....give thanks it is finally open

More than four years after the roadway was originally slated to be completed, the Mount Rosser bypass is to open its corridors today, enabling commuters to avoid the winding Mount Rosser road and significantly reduce the travel time from Kingston to Ocho Rios:

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news1.html

Will it be a toll road? Just asking, since dem rely on toll revenue fi pay back the foreign contractor....

Yes it will be. It said so in the article, but you have a month to drive on it free... so hurry guh tes it out...

Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I understand that Jamaican drivers bypass the Portmore toll road and still pack up the Spanish Town Highway because they don't want to pay any tolls.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Not true, imho. Trucks and larger vehicles find the cost a bit high, but I would think the majority of smaller vehicles use that toll road.

Can't wait to take a run on it on my way to my St. Ann chateau.

Why is the Chinese lettering taking prominence over the English?!?!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...ay-2000-opened

我不知道 ...

BTW, I THINK they made the road for you to drive on, not "run" ...

And in that vein, I was wondering if bicycles are allowed on it but I would imagine it's limited access... plus I wouldn't ride a bicycle there anyway knowing there were people like you itching to take a "run" on it.

Yuh lucky, when the Chinese start set up house over Goat Island, yuh better learn how fi read dem road signs.

Especially the ones dat say "Curry Dawg Special - 2 miles ahead". DWL!!

Both roads are packed. Portmore toll is now $170...was $150 in march...

Spanish Town Bypass wi talking about or the old road between Spanish Town and May Pen?

Imagine when yuh drive pon it !

Finally.. can drive on Mt. Rousseau now.. trucks were a nuisance !

Mi glad to see the new bypass in place. I recall driving with you, Karl and Gamma down to Montego Bay back in 2011. I just kept saying to myself "Lawd Jeezaz, please, please mek wi arrive safe!"
                              I am sure this will make the drive easier on fraidy-fraidy people like me.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran