Sean Paul on Palladia

• Sean Paul on Palladia

So I watched Sean Paul on the Palladia Channel.

Much as I am not a dance-hall fan, I came away with the impression that Paul not only knows his art--but he understands the business.

Ziggy Marley aside, which (contemporary) reggae artist possess a body of work that could make it on this premium cable music channel ?
    Last edited by HL; August 5, 2014, 02:47 PM.

You have a few. Jimmy Cliff, Shaggy, Sly and Robbie, Black Uhurru, Burning Spear, Toots and the Maytals, Grace Jones on the lower scale you have Berres Hammond, Freddy Mcgreggor, Shabba Ranks, Monti Alexander, Marcia Griffiths to name a few.

Well he said contemporary which I will interpret to mean someone with a popularly acclaimed song in the last , say 10 years?

With that definition I would narrow the potential list down to Beres Hammond, Damian Marley and Shaggy. If Chronixx is not there yet he is well on his way.

Mr Vegas...

Mavado
          Vybz Kartel when he was free and black
          Gyptian
          I-Wayne
          Serani
          Chaka Demus & Pliers
          Elephant Man
          Beenie Man

Just to name a few.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Thanks.

One thing that was clear from Sean Paul's commentary...was the need to (his quote) "musically evolve".

Most of the dance-hall chunes that he performed on the program was a hybrid of the genre. I can see the appeal to the market outside of Jamaica.

What's holding these artists back in their international appeal Jangle?

Management, determination, hard work, US visa, and luck to name a few. Oh and stop lick out 'gainst b@ttyman in their songs.
                Last edited by Jangle; August 5, 2014, 04:17 PM.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Shaggy and Sean Paul are deserving,Bob was too.
                  Mere coincidence regarding their complexion.
                  Both Shaggy and Sean Paul are spin off from Super Cat,and then there is Briggie.
                  They will all tell you keeping in touch with Jamaica was essential to their success,or they would have lost that sting.Yard remains essential.
                  Buju Banton,Kalonge,Capleton and many more are great,we do not need to take cues from foreigners on order to know that.

Wayne Wonder, Tonto Metro and Devonte.

You would pay money to watch a show with just Tonto and Devonte on it?

Or just Shakademus and Pliers? In 2014?

Not me. Better you say Beenie or Buju.

You are gettin' out of hand now Assasin.

It's not about artist you like.....

HL, coming soon to a premium channel near you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wgkjmo2RwLs#t=72

Management, determination, hard work, US visa, and luck to name a few. Oh and stop lick out 'gainst b@ttyman in their songs.
                            Glad you listed management first. That's why I was for.

The odder day when the post on Chronixx was in full swing; I wanted to post that an agent/manager should have slipped him a business card at the Central Park show........

i Wayne and Gyptian for me,and it is not a "dreadlocks thing" or else Betrixdeman would've figured.
                              Everyone is pullong out their hairs trying to figure why the steafy decline in Reggae salesKwell foreign-wise).
                              What made foreigners gravitate to Reggae to begin with despite Sean Paul and Shaggy still around.Well the lovey dubbie and floss thingy was never what distiguished Reggae from the get go,they get that from their own local artistes.It is the activism to which was a rarity and something they could identify with.Bob gone and we have these jokers...
                              The people with vested interest(more to lose)stiffle the voice,and so we are left to give all manner of praises to the their tolerable ones,the Shaggy,Sean Paul etc.