Check out what this guy has done in the inner city...amazing

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzSBDOfmkx8

That's not prospective...that's already occurring

But this question shows you're still missing the larger point which is wayyyy beyond JC and mere local examination results.... this is the real point:

Brandeis University Study -- FIRST Robotics Competition

Brandeis University’s Center for Youth and Communities conducted an independent, retrospective survey of FIRST Robotics Competition participants and compared results to a group of non-FIRST students with similar backgrounds and academic experiences, including math and science.

When compared with the control group, FIRST Robotics students are:

More than 3 times as likely to major specifically in engineering.

Roughly 10 times as likely to have had an apprenticeship, internship, or co-op job in their freshman year.

Significantly more likely to expect to achieve a post graduate degree.

More than twice as likely to expect to pursue a career in science and technology.

Nearly 4 times as likely to expect to pursue a career specifically in engineering.

More than twice as likely to volunteer in their communities.
      In a few words, Robotics produces... LEADERS, MAKERS & DOERS. That's what I'm promoting.... not CSEC grades. They're extra lessons designed for that mission

Get wid di program... Jamaica kinda slow suh nuff room still deh pon di Wagon
      Last edited by Don1; August 5, 2014, 01:22 PM.

Wow, powerful video. Encouraging yet at the same time chilling.

But Usain and Shelly soon dun everybody again so....

Wow, powerful video. Encouraging yet at the same time chilling.

But Usain and Shelly soon dun everybody again so....
          Yep it's fantastic!!!!!

I'd communicated with him about collaborating back in the day... he definitely has a lock on the the Lego programs for the younger set. Nutten neva come outa dat outreach doh

A luta continua same way

Islandman - I am still there and know wthe frustration. Some of them not easy to deal with.

You have a set of "do nothingers", who make no form on contribution, i.e. spending time to visit the insitution, making donations of cash/or kind, but they are always telling the doers what they should be doing, what will work from what won't work.

But like Saints, we press along

X.. si wha mi ah tell yuh bout yah..

Check dis..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOfnUyXyVn4

... Can you imagine the personal empowerment when a 17 y.o. kid can say truthfully "I am a senior engineer!"...with practical experience to boot

It dun dehsuh... im supposed to set fi life in terms ah im career path
              Last edited by Don1; August 5, 2014, 05:39 PM.

Super!!

Juss tek out di part bout mi Tims pls
                Cho mi type weh han hit sen himmediately mi pos uppa tap! (screwface emoticon! )

lol

That's not prospective...that's already occurring

But this question shows you're still missing the larger point which is wayyyy beyond JC and mere local examination results.... this is the real point:

In a few words, Robotics produces... LEADERS, MAKERS & DOERS. That's what I'm promoting.... not CSEC grades. They're extra lessons designed for that mission

Get wid di program... Jamaica kinda slow suh nuff room still deh pon di Wagon
                    Not promoting CSEC grades per se, but like it or not, the three Rs "r" important! And is you say robotics will almost automatically bring about this improvement. Maybe they won't write the best creative essay, but I would expect improvements in other ways.

I'm with you with this robotics, but, just like wid X, I have to keep you grounded.

Why do I think some of these kids could use their own life experiences and apply robotics to weaponry, taking it to another level? Drones and such the like. There is a market for it. I'm sure Israel woulda buy dem by the ship loads!

The 3 Rs and CSEC grades are indeed important. I never said they weren't. Nor did I say that robotics improves exam grades... maybe it does but I don't have data to support that. What I said is that it is not the mission of robotics to improve grades. The mission is to create a culture of appreciation for science and technology...and give kids real working world skills

In the 21st Century if we focus only on the 3Rs and local tests results we will ALWAYS be behind... even if we do them perfectly (which we definitely don't).

Rapid technological change renders a focus ONLY on the 3 Rs etc. very inadequate... that change will get only more rapid. What we're seeing is many kids skipping college if they have a marketable tech skill and industry certification... this is the next stage of the STEM thrust

It doesn't make sense trying to perfect a 20th century education model that is already defunct.... the system must be modernized. That's why we're in the mix

Yes MdmeX. Press along we must.

Also, not everything will work but sometimes you won't find out what will until you get in the trenches and find the right path after you buck you toe a few times . The only people who never get it wrong are the people who never try anything.

Why do I think some of these kids could use their own life experiences and apply robotics to weaponry, taking it to another level? Drones and such the like. There is a market for it. I'm sure Israel woulda buy dem by the ship loads!
                              next time Tivarli rise up... squaddie dem betta watch demself cause ah bayh ballistic missile wi agguh leggo pon dem

yeah PR... wi yute dem wikid eeh