What year dat? Jangle, the riot year?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
      What year dat? Jangle, the riot year?

yuh nuh know history anna Stonigut yuh name

Lawks man yuh a go mek me strain me left brain a try fi memba that???
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

De yam, Neva know se Jangle so old! Pre Arthur Wint/McKinley Calabar era, serious ting dat.

hehehe. Stoni you left Bar before me.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

HWT sida odeon

I don't recall that one at all. Unnu nuh ha nuh pickcha?

Hey dat sound like a nervous laugh.

You mean right there in front of ellesmere road, in the bend of c spring road before you come into HWT proper from the C Spring side. Hey there used to be a movie theatre across the road from dat, bet nobody know bout that one.

where the hwt transport centre is now

I read through this entire thread --and was waiting to see someone mention the brown crepe material shoes...made by Bata called GB.

GB's were the most popular shoes worn to school by boys during my Primary school days.

GB's (were), maybe knock-off of ProKeds or Converse in shape.

After a while, your big toe worked it's way through the rubber at the front of the shoes.

BTW: you had to wash them every Saturday...or else...

The Bata store was smack in the middle of HWT. I remember owning a pair in my very young days. Wearing a pair of Bata bouncers would immediately label you as being poor. I remember seeing youngsters wearing the bouncers with the toes cut out when their feet got too big for the shoes. Luckily I never fell into this category.

Who remembers Travel Fox?
                          As me seh yuh naw read my posts.

Were the bouncers the same as what we called GB's??

The toe coming through--was not for cutting in our case...but from the bigToe constantly rubbing on the rubber at the front of the shoe.

As kids we used the say the GB stood for God Blind.

I don't know the GB's, but six a one.....

Were the bouncers the same as what we called GB's??

The toe coming through--was not for cutting in our case...but from the bigToe constantly rubbing on the rubber at the front of the shoe.

As kids we used the say the GB stood for God Blind.
                                Some one HL. We also called them Buggas. I think the townies called them Batta Bouncers.
                                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran