• Seeding Clouds - Dumb Dumb Dumb $$$R###A%SS

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...-rain_17273418

Seed the stupid cloud if we have to. Mi nuh have a problem wid it.

Why so dumb TDowl, if it is done in a limited and contained way?

I am just asking, I don't know a lot about the practice.

Bertha might send some feeder bands?! maybe... looks like it's one time a tropical storm might be welcome... but again I just checked and it seems that Bertha will be giving Jamaica, well, a wide berth...

On the weather channel (Just this week), they were discussing the drought in California.

There is a new technology (chembuster it's called, I think) that was in consideration for that part of the country.

Did not pay close attention, but it appear to be a desirable method.(?)

Nither do I. We have to understand our environment and do what we can to change it for our benefit. If we can seed the clouds to cause rain, but it is done in a controlled manner where it does not cause flooding, then by all means do it.

I am hoping I see the day when we can monitor the weather and do what it takes to create situations to counter hurricanes and tornadoes.In other words, stop them before they get started.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

They would not be able to get the water into the pipe, where are they gonna store it, they have been saying from the 60's and before that Kingston needs another Dam/Resovior, they have yet to DE-silt those damns. I have yet to see any river in Hanover run dry, where are the micro dams. Stop the burning of trash and to clear the land, plant more trees in the water shed, seeding the clouds could result in water hitting the bare Earth and just washing away the land, there goes the flooding to the Sea. There I go rambling again......

If I am not mistaken it was used in Haiti by a company out of Florida.

OK fair points. Sounds like you are more concerned with our implementation of it than with the actual practice itself.

My understanding is that the most severe of the drought problems are always on the south coast. The expensive distribution challenge is getting the water over the mountainous terrain. There have been talks of desalination but with our inefficient energy production it would simply be too expensive to consider at this point.

I remember some friends from the farming areas of St Bess telling me that if that parish had adequate and cheap water supply they could produce enough to feed the nation.

we need the water anyway...for crops especially.

maybe it is me, but Jamaica have a lot of Rainfall. If the government do what most people do, then we will get rid of 60% of the problems.

How about buying some huge tanks and put them in specific areas or have more catchment areas and store water???? I understand the cooperate area and the other big cities but many of the local communities don't have that terrible need and if you get rid of their needs you can concentrate on the bigger cities and put more resources there.

TDowl I am with you. From me was a likkle bwoy a run up and down inna me tear-up-ba!ty pants with nose naught a run down me nose, Jamaica has had drought followed by flooding rains......every year. It boggles my mind that after 52 years of independence, our governments have not fixed this simple problem. Our name itself, Jamaica, means Land of Wood and Water. For years they have debated damming the Bog Walk Gorge. How difficult of a task is that? Why can't they simply just dam the gorge and build a bridge that runs over the gorge, which is less than a mile wide? The Mona Dam, the last time I was living in Jamaica, was always about 50% - 60% full.....and of that percentage, about 30% was made up of silt residue!!!! Take the dam out of commission and clean the silt!!!
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The current drought situation is bad but yes it is primarily a distribution problem.

Tanks and those things should be encouraged but at some point you have to find a larger solution. You can't expect to get very far with industry and development when you have these basic problems in the major urban areas.

I would love to have some input from the engineers on the forum.

I would think that taking the Mona Dam out of commission is no easy task if there is no adequate backup for it.

Iman that is true, but if we can't solve basic problems, how we a go solve complex ones???? Many of the parishes use pretty limited supply of water except Kingston and some part of St.Catherine, Ochi and Mobay. Immediate steps can be taken to help some of those parishes and that would protect food supply, and also migration to the metro areas and provide basic supplies.

Kingston and St.Andrew is a beast as they have made it run down. Weren't Jamaica going to get some loan a few years ago to bring water from St.Thomas and St. Catherine to boost the water supply in Kingston???