Setting up a school robotics program in Jamaica is very challenging but not especially difficult IF you're working with a few committed people. Fortunately we've already suffered through ALL the issues and have a replicable model... your team's learning curve will be short should you decide to accept this mission
1. I'man advised you of the excellent camps run by Kimroy Bailey/Digital Yard Foundation.
A great place to start would be a 2-3 hour robotics demo at the school you're thinking about. *(It's essential that you get support from Kimroy in JA)
From this demo your team can gauge the staff enthusiasm and identify the people on the ground who can run a program. You won't have any issues with student motivation
2. Select the age cohort and tech platform to start with. If it's 1st-3rd form.. I suggest the Lego Mindstorm tool set. For 4th-6th form... the Tetrix is great
Of course they're other platforms but we use those for reasons below
3. It's best that students have a robot build challenge to heighten motivation & skill development.
Unfortunately there's no JA robotics competition yet so you can check with Kimroy for a build solution OR consider a US competition. If you favor the foreign solution I recommend US FIRST TECH CHALLENGE.. The FTC competition is compatible with the tech platforms above.
They're other suitable competitions but we have 5 years experience working with FTC... and lots of goodwill with the officials. JC's experience & contacts would be at your disposal
Consider volunteering for US FIRST in your local area.. you'll get hands on experience and build contacts with the officials. The KC competition could be what you target because that's your hood...or you could have your team join JC at NY/NJ/Connecticut Regionals
A JA team in the Kansas City Regionals would be a sensation! (suh much black people one time inna KC!!)
This presentation was developed for a startup JA high school robotics program entering a FTC-type competition... go to deck 12 for an elaboration of how to start a club focused on that level ...it covers FTC equipment needs, basic infrastructure, club organization and financials
Would be great to see yuh dweet
1. I'man advised you of the excellent camps run by Kimroy Bailey/Digital Yard Foundation.
A great place to start would be a 2-3 hour robotics demo at the school you're thinking about. *(It's essential that you get support from Kimroy in JA)
From this demo your team can gauge the staff enthusiasm and identify the people on the ground who can run a program. You won't have any issues with student motivation
2. Select the age cohort and tech platform to start with. If it's 1st-3rd form.. I suggest the Lego Mindstorm tool set. For 4th-6th form... the Tetrix is great
Of course they're other platforms but we use those for reasons below
3. It's best that students have a robot build challenge to heighten motivation & skill development.
Unfortunately there's no JA robotics competition yet so you can check with Kimroy for a build solution OR consider a US competition. If you favor the foreign solution I recommend US FIRST TECH CHALLENGE.. The FTC competition is compatible with the tech platforms above.
They're other suitable competitions but we have 5 years experience working with FTC... and lots of goodwill with the officials. JC's experience & contacts would be at your disposal
Consider volunteering for US FIRST in your local area.. you'll get hands on experience and build contacts with the officials. The KC competition could be what you target because that's your hood...or you could have your team join JC at NY/NJ/Connecticut Regionals
A JA team in the Kansas City Regionals would be a sensation! (suh much black people one time inna KC!!)
This presentation was developed for a startup JA high school robotics program entering a FTC-type competition... go to deck 12 for an elaboration of how to start a club focused on that level ...it covers FTC equipment needs, basic infrastructure, club organization and financials
Would be great to see yuh dweet