• Teach the youths dem how to live...

Teach the youths dem how to survive,
    Hold your corner and save your life,
    And that's no jive!

Photos from the closing ceremony of the Kimroy Bailey Summer camp at UTECH, sponsored by Digital Yard Foundation, Access Financial, GeNNex and others. The focus was on electrorics, robotics and renewable energy.

Great! Keep it up boss.

BTW, what can I do to get my school involved in something like this?
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Great stuff.

Teach the youths dem how to survive,
        Hold your corner and save your life,
        And that's no jive!

Photos from the closing ceremony of the Kimroy Bailey Summer camp at UTECH, sponsored by Digital Yard Foundation, Access Financial, GeNNex and others. The focus was on electrorics, robotics and renewable energy.

Digital Yaaaaaard!!!

You're thinking of a limited term STEM camp like this one or a permanent robotics program at the school?
          Last edited by Don1; July 31, 2014, 03:12 PM.

So much potential in Jamaica!

Excellent work!

Do you care to expound on both?
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Leave it Tilla!!

The camps and workshops which are held maybe twice a year are more of a way to give students a taste of what the activities in a STEM-focused extra-curricular program would look like.

We were hoping we could do a camp in Mobay this summer as well but it didn't happen this time, there were two separate 1 week camps in Kingston. There have also been a number of visits and presentations on high school campuses by UTech engineering graduates and students who we work with from time to time.

The most critical thing, and probably the most difficult, is to find people in the school community (teacher, alumni, parent) who are willing to do the organizing at the school level, then we do what we can to support them.

There are always youths who are interested, and the cash outlay is not prohibitive to get a small group started.

We are in the process of re-evaluating what is the best way to reach out to some of the schools in the coming school year. Like most things there is never enough time and resources to do it the way you really want to do it but we continue to fight the good fight.

I can keep you in the loop if you are interested.

I need of these youths fi help me mek a drone.

These are the kind of initiatives that Jamaica need.

"It is easier to build strong childred than repair broken men"

Where have I seen this quote before?

Great work boss, keep it up.

Thanks Jawge. Hopefully we soon have a West event, but MoBay is a tough town when you nuh "Born a Bay"

The younger ones need them even more, the earlier the better.

At some point I would love to work on a project that encourages reading at an early age. Reading is one of those things that if you don't master it, everything else in education becomes so much more difficult.

When you are comfortable and confident with reading you can teach yourself almost anything. It is a priceless skill.

Our people are not readers, hence they are not eternal learners ( respect Jawge )