I-man I asked a question below

Think about this, why were the new secondary schools not allowed to play in Manning/DCup , Sunlight/Headley and participate in Champs?

Can you think of a reason other than to make them feel second class?
    Yeah, what was that about?! I often wondered and then just accepted it as a privilege we earned. How silly!

As far as I know there is no such school, at least not in Jamaica.

I do not think so. It is kind of a paradoxical question because if they went to those schools they probably would not be the confident Ben and Don1 that we know when it comes to Jamaican school discussions.
        Actually this is applicable worldwide, not merely in Jamaica

Mi cyaan count di amount ah guy from Babylon whe come wid dem skool argument an mi mek dem know seh dem place whe dem guh cyaan tes fimi own

No mi understand that and that is why I excluded you both as I was not talking about the banter on the forum .

For some people it is real. Very proud of my high school too but in the real world it is oftenly abused by "big belly men". We all can take it and give it on the forum and inna rum bar but many hide behind it when it comes to community and development and that is what I was addressing in the post above.

also the teachers have to be trained to acceptable level at these schools and proper administrators have to be placed there too but that is a start.

So true!

And then you have those who think that just because they attended foreign universities they have something over Jamaicans who did not.

ok boss

A year ago, I was invited to get together with a youth I mentored back in time. He got his MBA from Stanford and he had a few friends from there in the ATL. They were talking how in the ATL even Stanford which is seen as "good school" was not given the same opportunities that Georgia and Georgia tech MBA graduates were given in Georgia. I didn't realize that it was so regional in the US.

So true!

And then you have those who think that just because they attended foreign universities they have something over Jamaicans who did not.
                    And you have some who think because they attended UWI, them have something over those who attended CAST (now UTECH) and MICO

"the truth is our Common Entrance exams, now the GSAT, place us in certain schools according to our abilities at that moment in time. People develop differently, with strengths and weaknesses in areas that can never be adequately assessed by any exam.

Again, our focus as a nation must be to raise the level of the underachieving schools to levels where, if placed there by the GSAT exam, you still stand an excellent chance of competing with good school students. Sending the poorest students to certain schools is a recipe for disaster
                      ."

To the above argument I endorse by saying well said. Bloomberg did the same thing to NYC thus increasing the odds of inner city kids who didn't get accepted in specialized high schools (Bronx science, Laguardia,Stuyvesant, Brooklyn tech) to do stem programs in college.Bloomberg also took a step further; where new high schools are being embedded in some CUNY colleges.

In order for one to see the effect (on one's economy that is) of a sound education program; the quality has to be extended to the tertiary level.
                      At the tertiary level; quality research and communication (on global scale) would be done. The application from this research and communication is then reflected in one's economy. The information age is ripe for the picking with respect to nations such as Ja.
                      Last edited by Jawge; July 31, 2014, 11:32 AM.

Tilla reminds me at least every 2 months that I made some remark about him attending STETHS while I attended the good school on the hill, something to that effect. While I can't remember ever making such remarks (being too well raised, and schooled, to do such things)
                        Mo, if you are going to quote me or ascribe to me things I said, make sure you say it correctly. Memory failure is no excuse for this type of carelessness. Come on man, you went to good school!
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

On a different note.

My father, an engineering genius of world recognition attended KTHS.
                          So share with us some of your dad's engineering achievements to which we should be thankful nuh? I like to hear about the achievements of our people, especially when they achieve world recognition.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Mo, I guess you are just going to convieniently ignore my post? I would love to hear some more about your dad.