Island I just purchased the Champs book

• Island I just purchased the Champs book

Have you done same and read it , any views on the fast twitch being competed with on equal footing until the 50 s and bested in some cases.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Yeah I have a copy. Excellent successor to the original Champs book that was published in the 70s by Sir Herbert MacDonald.

As to the obvious difference in ethnic mix of high school athletes up until the 50s as compared to today, the reason is simple. Jamaican high schools were elite institutions up to independence. Look at any Georges, JC, Cornwall, Munro cricket or football team photo from the 40s and 50s era and you will see a much different demographic than a similar team from the 70s and later. Even other schools like Mannings and Titchfield which were not as prestigious as the ones mentioned earlier, were not available for all to attend. We all should thank Jamaicas greatest national leader, The Hon. NW Manley for having the vision and the will to start the process of changing that.

Simply put, the majority of the top talent was not participating. This does not mean that there were no world class athletes on display, but the overall talent pool was much weaker then than it is today.

Good book if you are a student of Champs. Thanks to Karl for making me aware of my father being featured in a photo of the Mannings champion Girls Champs teams of the late 60s.

Ok question , you say the fast twitch talent pool was weaker , which Olympian from CBar got his ass kicked at champs by a caucasian, I put it to you , where that Olympian had the avenue of athlethics to see his way through life or as as a spring board , the Jamaican caucasian had educational pursuits, and that I say is proof that the fast twitch theory is racist.One took the atheletics route the other the book(educational), what has happened is an exacerbation of this divide through economics.

That book Champs and the one before that , has documented history to disprove the fast twitch B.S.

Any logical Jamaican reading that book will come to that conclusion or person!
      Last edited by Sir X; July 27, 2014, 09:33 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sigh. OK then X. Good to know that you discovered the Champs book 4 years after it was published.

You might want to get your hands on the original book to get some additional information on Champs. It has been out for almost 50 years and I read it in high school.

LOL...had the original from I was a child , ask pops , yuh weak, no answer so you dismiss with sarcasm, ohh big man come betta,tell me about Mahfood and Hall...haha

BTW this one doesnt come close to the 1st.

You asked a general question, I gave you an answer that should be obvious to anybody who is knowledgeable in Jamaican history.

When you point out a problem with my argument then I will respond. As usual you have none, so as usual you reach for a few individual anecdotes. This is expected X behaviour.

You nuh know this sport like me X. Better you go beg Paul Marin a pass fe get back inna the Liverpool fan club, lol. Anyway vacation soon done, me will tek you on when me reach back a Florida.

Eagerly awaiting enjoy your vacation , looking forward to it.Every body a Jamaica a tracks man , you and the 35,000 a stadium and the 2.7 million on t.v plus the 5 million expats overseas.

Den yuh ave a bredda on di site name historian...lol