'Good School'

Hmmmm, I looked a Columbia when i applied for grad school . Decided on New York Institute of Technology instead.

Columbia...'good school' dat.
    From where? the comfort of your taxi as it drove by?

Ivy league schools are based on demands,as it pertains to Seaga,it is UWI that was the Ivy University,😁

That is true and generalizations can and should be challenged, I have no problem with that at all. It is how you challenge it.

If Muadib says Campion is the best high school in JA because it consistently gets the best CSEC and CAPE results, there are some valid counter-arguments for that statement but referencing a student or two who went to Campion in the 90s and only passed 3 subjects is not one of them.

That is true but don't you think in Muadib went to Denham Town or Tony Spaulding, it would still be the best in Jamaica, regardless of the passes?

OK now you are back to Seaga, a Jamaican student , and the U(C)WI of the 50s.

Your fallacious anecdote was based on foreign students and the UWI of the 80s.

Do you understand why your posts leave me so

From where? the comfort of your taxi as it drove by?
              Maybe he could see Columbia from his backyard.... to paraphrase another famous scholar

Rock..."leave it!!" I cried.

Yuh a one a di main one dem weh guilty a wah Islandman a talk bout.
                  woooiiie mi prefrontal lobe!!!

Oh yes, I have looked at Columbia not from a taxi--but from the comfort of my car many many times.

NYIT offered a package deal I could not refuse.

Columbia's loss PR

Not really,the post you had a problem with dealt with choice,it is NOT just Seaga,he represents all other students that were rejected by UWI but back then there was always Harvard.
                      UWI today is much better,nevertheless it was far more acclaimed back then.
                      There are always new entrants to the coveted list of Ivy....,my guess is Yale and Harvard are clinging...
                      In reality,isn't possible today's UWI made grounds..?
                      The was and now,Islandman.
                      Last edited by Rockman; July 29, 2014, 04:51 PM.

Columbia's loss PR
                        Fi reel... all now, 50 years later it still ah bun dem.. dont...

wooiiiee
                        Last edited by Don1; July 29, 2014, 05:17 PM.

HL, When my daughter applied to grad school, her first choice was Northwestern U in Chicago and her second was U of Rochester... she went with U of R precisely for that reason... it was a no-brainer as what they offered her was way more than NW did...

OK, you really haffe send me some a dat high grade stuff. Florida soon legalize it so just hold on pon a few pound fe me nuh? LOL!

Very funny(pinch myself not to but stll laughed).

No brainer indeed.

In my case New York College of Osteopathic Medicine (NYCOM) is located on the Old WestBury Campus of NYIT.

NYCOM offered me a job that provided full tuition remission at NYIT. No arithmetic needed.

BTW, I looked at NYU too