'Good School'

It is a mostly irrelevant fact. The school that a particular individual, talented as they are, chooses does not prove or disprove how easy or hard it is to get into the school that he/she turned down.

I notice that on this board most cannot grasp the difference between a general trend and an isolated example.

If someone says, "Wolves are generally more dangerous than domesticated dogs" , someone will counter with, "Well dat a nuh true because my Aunty down a Spanish Town did have a dawg inna her backyard dat did bad lakka any wolf!"

If someone says, "The command of the English language among inner city residents is generally worse than it is in the affluent suburbs of St Andrew" someone will counter with, "No sah, me know a girl down a Tivarli who can talk better dan Portia"

It used to frustrate me to no end but I have come to realize that good school, bad school, or no school, that is just the way it is.

Lord help us.
    Thank you very much for this post I'Man.

Glad is not me one!
      so you're a practitioner of the logical fallacy he describes??

who're the others??
      Last edited by Don1; July 29, 2014, 03:45 PM.

come on I-man a rumbar dis and we have fi reason. LOL

A which school you go???? LOL

Exactly! Emphasis on reason!!

I think you are doing a bit of retrofitting, but even if I misunderstood. .,there are limited slots afforded to foreign students....

Yuh a one a di main one dem weh guilty a wah Islandman a talk bout.

Limited slots afforded to foreign students where? UWI you mean?

Well OK, if that is really true then it is a much better argument for saying it is "harder" to get into than the first one you gave about a handful of students who could have gone elsewhere but chose UWI.

All I am asking is that we have some "backative" for our position when we present it.

I think you are doing a bit of retrofitting, but even if I misunderstood. .,there are limited slots afforded to foreign students....
                    ....walk away Rocky....

You have to Explain your self good when you a come. First you have fi tell me why the wolf bad, then tell me if all a di wolf dem bad, and why them baddar than Rover or Mr. Henry dog them. You can't come side way inna rumbar, you have fi step up and talk di the thing.

LOL

HL,if allocation is nade fir the entry of one foreign student,isn't it more difficult for a foreigner ...than it is for the same student to get into one of the Ivy...?
                          Seaga was forced to settled for his second choice,is it a Seaga thing or could others suffered the same fate?He was admitted in Harvard so it can't be about him.
                          At that era,the UWI was faaar more illustrous.

jessie rippoli consistently does well and is not a prep school

Really though, sometimes people make hollow general statement just to satisfy themselves or prove a point without any form of questioning. Sometimes a little push of the button is great conversation.

Bartender! Call a taxi fi dah man yah fi mi nuh.

Quick, before him tumble dung.