'Good School'

Yes for far too many schools the term "failure factories" that I heard used in the Waiting for Superman documentary on US public schools comes to mind.

It does, but I hope today's students realise that the sky is the limit if they apply themselves at school even if they don't have that discriminating tag.

However, and this is my concern, they are too many schools where our students are practically doomed! If the unmotivated teacher doesn't kill the students' dreams, a stray bullet will.
      As for you Mosiah, extracting sensible information from you is like removing your eye-teet without kockaine to rasss.

A guy like you who went to good school should do better dan dat man. Cho!

is it a reflection of the school or the community.

I remember my cousin who lived uptown boasting about her downtown prep school. I think it was Alpha prep which was in the heart of gunslingers.

As for you Mosiah, extracting sensible information from you is like removing your eye-teet without kockaine to rasss.

A guy like you who went to good school should do better dan dat man. Cho!
          There is no singular pleasure like getting HL or Historian to cuss some *****. Think I'm a take the rest of the day off.

is it a reflection of the school or the community.

I remember my cousin who lived uptown boasting about her downtown prep school. I think it was Alpha prep which was in the heart of gunslingers.
            Vaz Prep continues to be one of the better prep schools in the country, even while located in the heart of Franklin Town. But Franklin Town is not as tough as some neighborhoods and in many ways can be considered a model inner city community.

But trust mi, Sass, there are some other schools in communities that are practically in the middle of war zones and no matter a principal's best efforts and intentions it will be difficult to turn those schools around.

Is it fair to say that private schools are typically more insulated from their surrounding communities than public schools are?

without a doubt I understand that. About 6 months ago I spoke to my friend who turned Port Royal primary around and moved to a new school and he told me he comes in on Sundays to do some practical stuff with the kids He said he had to keep the children off the streets" on weekends.

Sad..

Recently,we read an article in which a student was awarded scholarship to several ivy league schools,in the end he chose one that wasn't even among the top three acclaimed on the list.
                  That is a defying logics fact?

"Good School Syndrome" kicked in halfway through the post
                    It's also interesting that the 2 individuals who have done the most to try to fix the good/bad school colonial system and its deformities... Norman and Michael Manley... were both products of a so called "good school"

One of the interesting ironies of history

No!!! Attended Columbia......If I wanted to attend UWI, I couldn't because I didn't do A level.

Hmmmm, I looked a Columbia when i applied for grad school . Decided on New York Institute of Technology instead.

Columbia...'good school' dat.

You obviously missed the part where I wrote "(or trying to answer)" ..

It is a mostly irrelevant fact. The school that a particular individual, talented as they are, chooses or not does not prove or disprove how easy or hard it is to get into the school that he/she turned down.

I notice that on this board most cannot grasp the difference between a general trend and an isolated example.

If someone says, "Wolves are generally more dangerous than domesticated dogs" , someone will counter with, "Well dat a nuh true because my Aunty down a Spanish Town did have a dawg inna her backyard dat did bad lakka any wolf!"

If someone says, "The command of the English language among inner city residents is generally worse than it is in the affluent suburbs of St Andrew" someone will counter with, "No sah, me know a girl down a Tivarli who can talk better dan Portia"

It used to frustrate me to no end but I have come to realize that good school, bad school, or no school, that is just the way it is.

Lord help us.
                            Last edited by Islandman; July 29, 2014, 03:43 PM.

Nope. But growing up, as a teen, I always thought that's where I'd go. No other university was on my radar screen... until my family, precipitately, emigrated to Canada before I wrote A levels.

FYI my HS alma mater is JC... and I did go to C-Bar for one year of sixth form.

I attended York University and University of Waterloo in Canada (Ontario).

It is a mostly irrelevant fact. The school that a particular individual, talented as they are, chooses does not prove or disprove how easy or hard it is to get into the school that he/she turned down.

I notice that on this board most cannot grasp the difference between a general trend and an isolated example.

If someone says, "Wolves are generally more dangerous than domesticated dogs" , someone will counter with, "Well dat a nuh true because my Aunty down a Spanish Town did have a dawg inna her backyard dat did bad lakka any wolf!"

If someone says, "The command of the English language among inner city residents is generally worse than it is in the affluent suburbs of St Andrew" someone will counter with, "No sah, me know a girl down a Tivarli who can talk better dan Portia"

It used to frustrate me to no end but I have come to realize that good school, bad school, or no school, that is just the way it is.

Lord help us.
                                Glad is not me one!