'Good School'

HL, When you go to the doctor, or dentist for example (I assume you might have had reason to visit one), do you ask him/her whether they went to a "good school"?

The fact is none of us really care... and we don't know if they graduated with a A+ average or a C-.
    Did you attend UWI?

Where are you going with this, HL?

HL!!! I see that you have asked this question twice. If you are suggesting that UWI is not a "good school", I hope you have SOLID FACTS to support that......It was easier to get accepted to Harvard than UWI, ask Edward Seaga.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
          HL!!! I see that you have asked this question twice. If you are suggesting that UWI is not a "good school", I hope you have SOLID FACTS to support that......It was easier to get accepted to Harvard than UWI, ask Edward Seaga.
          Ouch!

Did you attend UWI?

I did. What?

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                .................additionally I find your last sentence amusing

There is much truth to it,some of the foreign exchange students (80's) were accepted by some acclaimed Universities but chose a Jamaica for tertiary education.Money was not not an option as their parents were the Govt in their country.I know that for sure.

You are a comedian.. I hope..

It is actually not as simple as some are suggesting.

"Good school" in Jamaica can mean one of many things. I will list four of them.

1) A school considered to be performing well academically based on recent CSEC/CAPE results, ie your Campions, your Immaculates, your Ardennes, your Glenmuirs

2) A school that performs consistently well in sports, particularly the sports of football, cricket and track and field . Your KCs, your Calabars, STETHS etc

3) A school that was not available to the black masses in colonial days, and which may or may not be performing well in any area today but is still mostly living off its brand name. These schools typically have rich and powerful old and middle-aged alumni. Nah call nuh name for this one

4) A traditional high school, ie one that is not one of the upgraded secondary schools of old.

Jamaicans home and abroad put a lot of importance in the high school you went to. I have seen grown, successful people who did not go to a so-called traditional high school feel embarrassed when the question is asked in a social setting (and it is frequently asked). The answer is often used to size up the persons socio-economic background because lets face it, middle and upper-middle class children do not end up in the non-traditional secondary schools.

For what it is worth, I went to Morant Bay High School and UWI.
                      Last edited by Islandman; July 28, 2014, 07:54 PM.

Not exactly, Islandman. But good try!

Lets cut through all the BS..

I repeat.. a good school is where yuh want yuh pickney if dem duh well pon dem GSAT..

Why is this a difficult concept ?

It is not complicated.

Not difficult, just not always based on anything of substance.

Okay,did not see the acceptance letters but I have no reason to doubt them.Their parents were Govt officials(confirmed),and they fit the bill academically.