Yes for far too many schools the term "failure factories" that I heard used in the Waiting for Superman documentary on US public schools comes to mind.
'Good School'
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostIt does, but I hope today's students realise that the sky is the limit if they apply themselves at school even if they don't have that discriminating tag.
However, and this is my concern, they are too many schools where our students are practically doomed! If the unmotivated teacher doesn't kill the students' dreams, a stray bullet will.
A guy like you who went to good school should do better dan dat man. Cho!The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
is it a reflection of the school or the community.
I remember my cousin who lived uptown boasting about her downtown prep school. I think it was Alpha prep which was in the heart of gunslingers.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by HL View PostAs for you Mosiah, extracting sensible information from you is like removing your eye-teet without kockaine to rasss.
A guy like you who went to good school should do better dan dat man. Cho!
Originally posted by Assasin View Postis it a reflection of the school or the community.
I remember my cousin who lived uptown boasting about her downtown prep school. I think it was Alpha prep which was in the heart of gunslingers.
But trust mi, Sass, there are some other schools in communities that are practically in the middle of war zones and no matter a principal's best efforts and intentions it will be difficult to turn those schools around.
without a doubt I understand that. About 6 months ago I spoke to my friend who turned Port Royal primary around and moved to a new school and he told me he comes in on Sundays to do some practical stuff with the kids He said he had to keep the children off the streets" on weekends.
Sad..- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Islandman View Post"Good School Syndrome" kicked in halfway through the post
One of the interesting ironies of historyTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
It is a mostly irrelevant fact. The school that a particular individual, talented as they are, chooses or not does not prove or disprove how easy or hard it is to get into the school that he/she turned down.
I notice that on this board most cannot grasp the difference between a general trend and an isolated example.
If someone says, "Wolves are generally more dangerous than domesticated dogs" , someone will counter with, "Well dat a nuh true because my Aunty down a Spanish Town did have a dawg inna her backyard dat did bad lakka any wolf!"
If someone says, "The command of the English language among inner city residents is generally worse than it is in the affluent suburbs of St Andrew" someone will counter with, "No sah, me know a girl down a Tivarli who can talk better dan Portia"
It used to frustrate me to no end but I have come to realize that good school, bad school, or no school, that is just the way it is.
Lord help us.Last edited by Islandman; July 29, 2014, 03:43 PM."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Nope. But growing up, as a teen, I always thought that's where I'd go. No other university was on my radar screen... until my family, precipitately, emigrated to Canada before I wrote A levels.
FYI my HS alma mater is JC... and I did go to C-Bar for one year of sixth form.
I attended York University and University of Waterloo in Canada (Ontario).Peter R
Originally posted by Islandman View PostIt is a mostly irrelevant fact. The school that a particular individual, talented as they are, chooses does not prove or disprove how easy or hard it is to get into the school that he/she turned down.
I notice that on this board most cannot grasp the difference between a general trend and an isolated example.
If someone says, "Wolves are generally more dangerous than domesticated dogs" , someone will counter with, "Well dat a nuh true because my Aunty down a Spanish Town did have a dawg inna her backyard dat did bad lakka any wolf!"
If someone says, "The command of the English language among inner city residents is generally worse than it is in the affluent suburbs of St Andrew" someone will counter with, "No sah, me know a girl down a Tivarli who can talk better dan Portia"
It used to frustrate me to no end but I have come to realize that good school, bad school, or no school, that is just the way it is.
Lord help us.