Chronixx tonight on Jimmy Fallon

No only Bob has sold more records than Shaggy as a Jamaican artiste.

Damian Marley would probably be next after Shaggy and Sean Paul.

Beres command 15 to 20 grand a concert in the 90s. Plus dub plates, jingles and other projects which will be rejected by the majors. The wrong company witll bury him and not even put any promotion behind Chronixx. Seem some of them water down the sound and artist lose their base and do not get more fans.

Again some artists are better not signing with the majors.

So you agree he has to potential to be at a different level then?

I wouldn't disagree with you that he has some things to work out in both his productions and performance, but the quality is there.

The youth is what now, 22? Sometimes we talk like Bob, Jimmy and the other Jamaican musical legends had it all together when they were 20, they did not. The youth is still learning his craft but i terms of raw talent he has no peer that I know of among reggae artistes of his generation.

So Bricktop, are you saying that is current handlers cannot take him to the next level or are you saying that he just isn't ready yet (or both)?

And where are they now?

Re: I listened to the lyrics as well

Tilla, you have made very logical and dispassionate comments here. I agree with you 100 percent!

In fact, there is nothing I really need to add to your concise comments.

I listened to the lyrics as well and wondered how many among us who were not Jamaicans could understand his lyrics. Considering that the Jamaican market is too small to really effect sale success, there is concern on my part as well about how well his message comes across to others. He may have hope however, when you consider Shaggy and Sean Paul.

I also wondered about his choice of name for his new CD/tour, "Dread and Terrible". I know in Jamaica when you say something is terrible, it translates to "bad" and ultimately "great". I am not sure it carries the same connotation outside Jamaica. I hope his marketing crew/label know what they are doing and how to get the message out that this artist is not really terrible in the true sense of the word.

I will add that I like him though and he has potential to be a success.

The consensus...ascording to Bricky. Please!

How we get to comparing Chronixx to Tessanne?!?

Again, Sound Points!

More excellent points from you, boss. In fact, it is difficult to see why someone would argue against what you have stated here.

Can't see what listening to Top 40 Radio have to do with my question. Still a faulty generalization by Sass and now you. For one thing, the low sales of Reggae which qualifies as top 40 hit should tell you that it is not a true reflection of American taste. An album may sell 8k units and make the Reggae Top 40. This is not an indication of the market penetration which would let me say t is representative of American taste. But then, when you have lowered expectations. . .

Hey Mo, when reggae albums start selling in the hundreds of thousands or millions, give me a shout.

Check out how Motown almost killed Richie Stevens.

Brickie, stop gwaan so, you have nuff wrecker inna America too. It is not just jump but looking for the right mix. You a gwaan like a nuh hustlers up here in America too, some with big labels.

thank you Mo. Just listen to the R&B radio stations, the pop stations and the Indie stations. Only country stations maybe a little different.

Most of the real hit songs of the past year just have a catch hook "happy" is a perfect example and Robin Thicke big hit last year. Most people can only repeat one or two lines of the songs.

Send go call Tilla. And Historian. Dem never understand why mi asks da question deh. Seems starkly obvious to me!

His popularity grew throughout 2012, with significant airplay in Jamaica, and performances at festivals such as Reggae Sumfest and a show in December at the Tracks and Records nightclub/restaurant in Kingston, which was attended by Usain Bolt.[8] He was featured on the Major Lazer-curated mixtape Start a Fire.[9]

In 2013 he had hits with "Smile Jamaica" and "Here Comes Trouble", and he toured the United Kingdom (including a BBC 1Xtra concert in Leeds) and the United States with his Zincfence Redemption Band.[6][10][11] In March 2013 he travelled to Kenya, where he has a large fanbase, as a Peace Ambassador during the country's general election, and performed at the Tuka Rada Peace Concert in Nairobi.[12] He again performed at Sumfest in 2013, in front of an audience of almost 10,000.[13]

His 2014 EP, Dread & Terrible, topped the Billboard Top Reggae Albums chart.[2] In May 2014 he won Culture Artist of the Year, Best New Artist, and Entertainer of the Year at the Linkage Awards in New York.[14]

Chronixx is part of the new roots reggae movement in Jamaica, along with other young "conscious" artists like Protoje and Jah9.[15]

He founded his own ZincFence Recordz production house along with producer Romain "Teflon" Arnett and co-producer/engineer Ricardo "Shadyz" Lynch.[8] As well as Chronixx, ZincFence has produced hits by Jah Cure, Kabaka Pyramid, and Protoje, and had worked with Maverick Sabre, Mavado, and Nomaddz.[16]
                            - Wikipedia

All this and he is not even 22 years old! I wonder what Bob was doing at 21 years old?!?

This is a good time to jump on the bandwagon. 10 years from now yuh can tell people how yuh was a big him up and di rest a wi couldn't see di talent.
                            Last edited by Mosiah; July 24, 2014, 10:55 PM.

I also wondered about his choice of name for his new CD/tour, "Dread and Terrible". I know in Jamaica when you say something is terrible, it translates to "bad" and ultimately "great". I am not sure it carries the same connotation outside Jamaica. I hope his marketing crew/label know what they are doing and how to get the message out that this artist is not really terrible in the true sense of the word.
                              Sigh!

Tilla, when last yuh read yuh Bible?

"For the Lord Most High is to be feared, A great King over all the earth. King James Bible For the Lord most high is terrible; he is a great King over all the earth." - Psalm 47:2

Tilla, even the word "dread" use to mean something negative back in the day. Imagine the meanings of that word today!

Tilla, both words used together can only mean one thing - di album a tek life! Or, in your world, the album is awesome!

Mi tell unnu arready, keep calm and try ketch up wid di bandwagon.

How did he end up on the tonight show anyway?