Chronixx tonight on Jimmy Fallon
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015Tags: None
Re: Chronixx tonight on Jimmy Fallon
As I watched the performance last night, the question uppermost in my mind was how many of the millions of American viewers of The Tonight Show actually understood the words the young man was singing.
On the other hand, this is certainly no more difficult than listening to a Shaggy or Sean Paul recording (for example, Shaggy’s deejaying on “It Wasn’t Me” would most likely be challenging to the average non-Caribbean ear), and as we know, each of these two deejays/singjays had more than one Number 1 hits on the Billboard Pop Charts.
Hoping for the best for Chronixx with his new album and his tours.
I listened to the lyrics as well and wondered how many among us who were not Jamaicans could understand his lyrics. Considering that the Jamaican market is too small to really effect sale success, there is concern on my part as well about how well his message comes across to others. He may have hope however, when you consider Shaggy and Sean Paul.
I also wondered about his choice of name for his new CD/tour, "Dread and Terrible". I know in Jamaica when you say something is terrible, it translates to "bad" and ultimately "great". I am not sure it carries the same connotation outside Jamaica. I hope his marketing crew/label know what they are doing and how to get the message out that this artist is not really terrible in the true sense of the word.
I will add that I like him though and he has potential to be a success."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
These concerns mainly affect the American market which, historically, always lagged behind Europe and Japan in terms of record sales and popularity of Reggae.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
I couldn't care less how many understood what he was saying. Dancehall, yes DANCEHALL, has a huge international following and most of us, including me, can't make out most it. Which is probably a good thing!
Chronixx' delivery was smooth and mature. Tired of the "high knee-lifting, prancing across the stage, rest one foot on the speaker" crap.
May Chronixx continue to speak to us in our own language and not water down di ting for the almighty dollar.
OK.
May Chronixx continue to speak to us in our own language and not water down di ting for the almighty dollar.
BTW, I agree, his performance was smooth and matured and lacked the jump and prance."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
I am taking some time for a little vacation but had to drop in to make a few comments on this.
Regarding the language issue, Shaggy and Sean Paul cracked the code for that some time ago....if the chorus/hook is understandable and catchy then the rest of the song can be in the strongest patwa, it won't matter. Mosiah is correct in saying that we have to give dancehall music the credit for finding the formula that works.
The thing with Chronixx as I have said before is that he is not a one-hit sensation. He has been touring and building up a fan base and catalog for the last two years without a major hit of any kind. He is developing a nice little modern sound that borrows from dancehall in some ways but is also old school reggae in others. He always travels with his band , something that does not happen often anymore for financial reasons.
I hope people are seeing now that this youth is not overhyped. He is talented, young and seems to have a sensible head on his shoulders. If reggae music gets another 4 or 5 young artistes/groups like this touring it will be as fresh and in demand as ever.
OK, back to the beach Later!"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
yeah the power of the "hook" and "punchline". Most of the Americans have no time for the words anyway except good music and good hook.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Tilla, part of the attractiveness of our music (and culture, generally) is the language. And not everyone wants to hear the Shaggy variety. And even so, Chronixx is not exactly Kartel either!
If I had a problem with the artiste it would be with his name - Chronixx. But with the recent revolution taking place with regards to acceptance of the herb, perhaps he was just being forward-thinking! Please note as well, it is spelt with 2 "x"s, not 3, which may have given it a whole nother meaning!
Don't worry about Chronixx, Tilla. He'll be fine!Last edited by Mosiah; July 23, 2014, 12:55 PM.
Doubt he needs a big recording company to sign him right now, maybe distribution if he continue to tour the way he is doing right now. Just as Beres.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Most of the Americans have no time for the words anyway except good music and good hook"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Don't worry about Chronixx, Tilla. He'll be fine!
BTW, apart from Bob Marley and Shaggy, who is the best selling Jamaican artiste in the last decade and how many CDs did they sell?
I ask because I do not know, but I know that at some point, only a few people will buy a music product because of its language. But I guess if we have lowered expectations, hitting it big is not a priority, as long as the handful continue to support."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
How is Beres doing in terms of CDs sold and tours? Is he raking in the dough or just making enough to keep him in the business?"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran