Chronixx tonight on Jimmy Fallon

the consensus was that Chronixx Sumfest performance was lukewarm...which is no surprise...he lacks energy and passion...seen the set over and over and it evokes the same feelings each time...blah...

Let's hope Chronixx escapes the mediocrity and gets a proper set of producers & handlers around him...

That I can agree on. I would love to see him become a success but I am not ready to celebrate mediocrity.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla, I spoke to Red Fox who was one of the DJs who had one of the first recording contract with a big company. He told me for him it was just that he got the money upfront and that you have to work for it by doing what they want you to. His hits were riding the chart and he didn't think he got much as they didn't know how to promote him and stop him from earning from other sources.

However the first time I actually thought about this was after a conversation with Beres Hammond. I asked him "why you haven't signed a concract with a big lable" He told me, he would have to think carefully before considering any contract as he only needs a distribution deal. He states that he makes more money touring. This was the first time I thought about it. That was in the 90s and Beres was big but not as he is today. You notice Beres only sign distribution deal?

HL, it is simple, ask a few who have signed "big" contracts. It works out better for some, not all. Signing with a big company may limit income, that is why even some big artists use Independent labels.

geezas...hootie and the blowfish have three platinum selling albums...one went 3x platinum and one went 16x platinum...yuh have sense?

what is "medicrity"?

Do you have sign with big label to high quailty music?? Success is not only the money that comes in although it would be good if he got it.

what good is a distribution deal if nobody knows who you are? why would beres sign to a major? beres is not going to cross over into mainstream america so obviously he can make more money being independent...someone like chronixx is a totally different kettle of fish...signing to a major would probably work out for him...young...kinda edgy...growing following...a major would give him that extra push to get him over the hump...

So my question again, what are his sales and touring figures like?

The word "Big" is relative. If you are comparing him to Jamaican artists at home, then he might be considered big. He could be satisfied with doing his own distribution and "mek a money". However, he might not be really raking in the dough big time to get rich really.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Poor Mosiah. Can't believe he said that.

Sass. Go back and read the post. Who is saying anything about signing to a big record label is equal to success?

Well if Chronixx started in 1986 the he can claim longivity on the group Hootie and the Blowfish. The group broke up in 2008 (I think). Darius Rucker is going solo as you well know.

"Eating Crow"...I just saw that...brilliant

I hope that Chronixx do extremely well. Hope he also develop his repertoire into singing top class reggae....
                          Last edited by HL; July 23, 2014, 05:24 PM.

there are maybe (2) people in Jamaica capable of navigating an artist's career on the international scene...the Jamaican landscape is littered with hustlers & beatmakers...not mangers and producers...he has a chance to escape from the mediocrity...i hope he grabs the opportunity with both hands

I'd guess Sean Paul would be right up there in sales, in fact he might have outsold Shaggy even but I'm just guessing as I said.

Maybe Brickie, maybe. You know how many young and enterprisiing entertainers some of the majors park???? The wrong label may take away some of his creativity, some of his sound. Sometimes they choose to shelf worthy product or do not put worthy promotion behind it.

Signing doesn't guarantee anything.