• It's not always you down there, it's also us up here

It's not always you down there, it's also us up here
    Christopher Burns
    Monday, May 28, 2007

It is a patent fact that some members of the Jamaican diaspora, especially in the United States, either do not take enough time to inform themselves sufficiently of happenings in Jamaica, or they are so passionate about the country that they do not give a hoot about distortions, however detrimental.

Christopher Burns

How else could one explain some of the irritating inaccuracies, misrepresentation and arrogance that accompany so many of the letters to the editor and the ignorance behind the botched American accent that colours some of the conversations on the talk shows?

My gripe is not with the struggles that some face in masking our unique Jamaican lilt under the blanket of a "Johnny-come-lately" foreign accent. It is with the devotion they seem to have with painting a picture, especially of North America, that presents it as Utopia when in reality many of the problems that Jamaica faces are the same that many other countries have to grapple with.

Recently, I listened to Wilmot Perkins as he asked an overseas Jamaican caller to his show: "Have you ever experienced a power cut in the US?" As the caller attempted to answer, Perkins swiftly suggested to him that such experiences would most likely happen only during natural disasters, such as hurricanes. Unfortunately, the wimpish fellow agreed with Perkins without realising that other listeners, who live in the same area as he, knew that he was flat out lying.

I hold no brief for the present administration and I have absolutely nothing against the United States of which I am a citizen. In fact, I have enjoyed tremendous success here, but we have to put things in perspective in order to arrive at reasonable conclusions. Undoubtedly, Jamaica faces many hurdles, fiscal limitations and social challenges. However, to present the view that the problems are inimitably Jamaican is scandalous at best and disingenuous at worst. It is against this background that I share the following statistics with you.

A lot of overseas callers to the talk shows and writers to the newspapers quarrel about Jamaica's indebtedness. While this is cause for concern and deserving of a deliberate debt reduction strategy, callers should also know that as at May 25, 2007, the outstanding public debt of the USA was US$8.810 trillion. Put another way, each US citizen owes US$29,176, a further $1.28 billion is added daily. In Japan, at January 2006, the debt stood at US$7.1 trillion which was 160 per cent of its annual GDP.

The nightly television newscasts have become unofficial sites for charity appeals. Again, some members in the diaspora exploit these appeals by reinforcing the refrain, "This could not happen in America," as though poverty is exclusively Jamaican. According to US Government Accountability Office, in a letter dated January 24, 2007 to Charles Rangel of the Ways and Means Committee of Congress: "In 2005, 37 million people, or approximately 13 per cent of the total US population lived below the poverty line."

Additionally, Catholic Charities USA reports that "25 million people in the US sought help from food banks in 2006 - an increase of 18 per cent since 1997. More than 7 million people living in rural areas are poor, and the highest rates of poverty are among children, mostly children of colour." According to the October 2006 issue of the Journal of the American Academy of Family Physicians, "Each day in the US, at least 800,000 people are homeless. This includes 200,000 children in homeless families. As of the beginning of the 21st century, 2.3 to 3.5 million people were homeless at some time during 2005."

Much discussion has surrounded government announcement of free health care for children under 18 years old, and the JLP's proposal for universal free health care. But it has always fascinated me how some members in the diaspora like to create the impression that health care is available in the USA for all at no cost; knowing fully well that nothing could be further from the truth.

The National Coalition of Health Care reports that "due to rise in health insurance premiums, nearly 47 million Americans or 16 per cent of the population were without health insurance in 2005 including 8.3 million children". Overseas Jamaicans may find this interesting, "The largest majority, of the uninsured (80 per cent) were Native Americans or naturalised citizens."

Nearly eight out of 10 uninsured people came from working families and almost 15 per cent of employees had no employer-sponsored health coverage available to them. In 2005, health-care spending in the United States reached $2 trillion or 16 per cent of its GDP. The US spends nearly US$100 billion per year to provide uninsured residents with health services, hospitals provide about US$34 billion worth of uncompensated care per year, another US$37 billion is paid by private and public payers for health services and US$26 billion is paid out-of-pocket by those who lack coverage with the average cost of a hospital stay about US$3000.

The crime problem in Jamaica poses the greatest and gravest threat to our economic and physical security, and I remain unimpressed with some of government's crime focus. However, the US Police Executive Research Forum reports that "violent crime increased in 2006, and many cities experienced double-digit or even triple-digit percentage increases in homicides and other violence".

The FBI also reports that "An estimated 1.391 million violent crimes occurred nationwide in America in 2005. It also reports that there were an estimated 469 violent crimes per 100,000 inhabitants. Aggravated assault accounted for 62.1 percent, robbery for 30 per cent, forcible rape accounts for 6.9 per cent and murder for 1.2 per cent; 45.5 per cent of violent crimes and 16.3 per cent of property crimes were cleared by arrest or exceptional means; 62.1 per cent of all murders were cleared up."

Finally, while we should never hide our woes by foolishly burying them behind emotions or pretend that nothing positive has ever happened in our country, it doesn't hurt to look dispassionately at what obtains elsewhere as we lay the foundation for reasonable dialogue, given the penchant for some to see our country and ourselves in the most negative light.

Burnscg@aol.com

Is this bredda an idiot or what?

Hey!

Lazie and company will not like the above!

...but, the truth is sometimes hard to accept.

Lazie and company would have us believe that there has been no progress in any area in Jamaica.

I live in Florida and too often when it rains we have a *power cut...and, as an internet VOIP user no home telephone when the power goes out.

...and, there are areas when driving around there is also no cellular telephone connection.

...water is always available, but currently, in my area there are water restrictions. It may also surprise some that some houses in my area are still on the sceptic pit system with the homes using well water. Yup! We all know that the possibility of contamination of 'drinking water' is real.

Yup! The US is great! ..no doubt about it...but, so is Jamaica!

BTW - In my area ganga is not grown in the fields...no sah! Houses are bought and in-house cultivation is the order of the day!

*Yup! We thought it wise to have our home wired and connected to a home generator...and, it has come in handy a number of times.

Does the g stand for George ..(Jawge)?

Hey!

Lazie and company will not like the above!

...but, the truth is sometimes hard to accept.

Lazie and company would have us believe that there has been no progress in any area in Jamaica.

I live in Florida and too often when it rains we have a power cut...and, as an internet VOIP user no home telephone.

...and, there are area when driving around there is also no cellular telephone connection.

...water is always available, but currently, in my area there are water restrictions. It may also surprise some that some houses in my area are still on the sceptic pit system with the homes using well water. Yup! We all know that the possibility of contamination of 'drinking water' is real.

Yup! The US is great! ..no doubt about it...but, so is Jamaica!

BTW - In my area ganga is not grown in the fields...no sah! Houses are bought and in-house cultivation is the order of the day!
          Wait .. does the c stand for Carl (Karl). Gwaan fool yuhself as usual Karl.

Florida is not America, Karl. Neither is Louisiana.

I lived up north for 13 years and I think I can remember one power cut. Not even when the whole northeast was shut down for a day or two in 2003 did my little neck of the woods suffer any power cuts, so power cuts were extremely rare for me. I would come back home and the time on my VCR and microwave would never need resetting!

Of course the rest of the world has problems, but I really get impatient with people who want to water down our crime problems by saying that every where has it. I will swop any other country's crime problems for ours any day, and if ours is not such a problem, then why are investors keeping away? Or are they really coming here in droves?

Florida is not America, Karl. Neither is Louisiana.

I lived up north for 13 years and I think I can remember one power cut. Not even when the whole northeast was shut down for a day or two in 2003 did my little neck of the woods suffer any power cuts, so power cuts were extremely rare for me. I would come back home and the time on my VCR and microwave would never need resetting!

Of course the rest of the world has problems, but I really get impatient with people who want to water down our crime problems by saying that every where has it. I will swop any other country's crime problems for ours any day, and if ours is not such a problem, then why are investors keeping away? Or are they really coming here in droves?
              Florida is not Jamaica!

Damn right it is not!
              For one it is larger...

BTW - When I lived in the tonier (Is that the spelling?) Sterns Park, Freeport, Long Island, New York I had many, many more power cuts that in the decided less toney Brentwood, Long Island, New York.

I think in Brentwood we had only two power cuts in the 10 years we were there. ...but, there were other third world similarities.

Is immigration in Jamaica preventing you from moving back ?

Yuh moving into the category of retarded now.

Jamaica is brilliant for some people no doubt about it.

Almost 90% of the population earns less than US$3,200 per year.. it nuh so nice fi dem. Build a Highway from here to USA and charge only toll access and see how 'nice' it is in yard.

Karl, yuh nuh have a conscience ?

Damn.

I said Florida is not America, not Jamaica!

let me ask Mr Burns how frequent is his power cuts and how long?

let me ask Mr Burns how many Americans carrying water pon them head?

Lets get real here, the problems people are living in Jamaica is real is not like them can move to another parish and everything is ok.

Karl how long are your power cuts and how often?

let me ask Mr Burns how frequent is his power cuts and how long?

let me ask Mr Burns how many Americans carrying water pon them head?

Lets get real here, the problems people are living in Jamaica is real is not like them can move to another parish and everything is ok.

Karl how long are your power cuts and how often?
                      I would have loved to have heard Karl's philosophy in the 80's.

How some people suh defensive when it come to yard these days... hmmmm...

Yuhseeit! Burns can stay dere. I wonder which part a Jamaica him live. And I wonder if he would spend one night in some inner city community, just one night!

whe Karl deh?

Him have one a him power cut dem?

Mi notice him ask question and when him get answers him nuh like him get power cut

Almost 90% of the population earns less than US$3,200 per year.. it nuh so nice fi dem.
                            It is the above quoted type of crass talk that forces Christopher Burns to write such an article!

I said Florida is not America, not Jamaica!
                              Yes!
                              ...and, I am saying think of any part of Jamaica and do not consider it Jamaica?

...as to power cuts, the USA is a 1st World country...a huge one and they have their terrible power cuts! ...and, crime the like of which Jamaica has never seen in her independent life...and we could take a look particularly at mass murders! God the frequency of them is astonishing! ...it blows the mind!

What of the terrible numbers of parents murdering children? ...what of the number of children murdering parents? ...can we find more terrible things that we have not faced in Jamaica? Damn right, we can!