• Another one JFJ resigns....MO Next !

JFJ Chairman Resigns
    Published: Saturday | July 19, 2014 0 Comments
    Livern Barrett, Gleaner Writer

THE FINDINGS of an internal review by human-rights lobby Jamaicans for Justice (JFJ) into the controversial sex-education programme implemented in six private children's homes this year have resulted in the resignation of the group's chairman Lisa Lakhan-Chen.

"As the chairperson, I would have the ultimate responsibility for oversight and vetting of the programme," Lakhan-Chen told The Gleaner late yesterday, noting that her resignation will take effect next Friday.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news2.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Good,funding was mentioned!
    Things happen for reason,the vetting process being sidelined isn't an oversight but a chosen strategy.
    The most vulnerable.....were specifically targeted with the explicit consent of the JFJ,they should all go.
    The reason why the JFJ figured is for authentication;not an issue we have the approval of the JFJ.
    Whose watch?

The most vulnerable were targeted ?

With the intent to do what ???

Educate ?

lol ! woiee !

Indoctrinate!
        Why wasn't it first introduced to to schools with vigilant parents(by way of active PTA)?
        So she did the biddings of CVCC only to take up employment there soon thereafter?

Very deceptive individual

JFJ, Gomes trade charges in sex-ed row
          Sunday, July 20, 2014 26 Comments

GOMES… to say that I didn’t brief them isn’t accurate (then) OSBORNE… JFJ says she was unaware of the content of the programme

HUMAN rights lobby group Jamaicans For Justice (JFJ) says after reviewing the controversial sex education manual it has come to the conclusion that the children who were exposed to inappropriate material could have been psychologically harmed.

But the group's claim that its board of directors was not fully informed of the content of the programme has been stoutly denied by Dr Carolyn Gomes, the former JFJ executive director who now heads the Caribbean Vulnerable Communities Coalition (CVCC).

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...d-row_17194995

Arrogant,condescending .Damaged goods.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There was a clear directional change primarily because of the need for additional funding.This has to be the change alluded to ....and the blame wrongly attributed to Osborne.
            The JFJ under Gomes leadership was on the verge of morphing into something contrasting its very foundation.

JFJ must introduce programs in schools that have active PTA ?

Yuh have sense yute ?

JFJ deal with the 'at risk.. summady have to.... yuh tink uptown people need JFJ when di State abuse dem ?

I suggest all who have mout offer their services.. leave their job as a Doctor or Lawyer and form non-profits.. that is a better use of energy... rather than mindless yapping..

Mi nuh know why dem nuh stap waste time and join di forum and effect REAL change.. (while enjoying some seedless grapes)

Please expand.. *grabs popcorn*

Well that sums up your problem.You compromise your values for their interest.How dear was the JFJ to you to begin with if you turn a blind eye to it becoming corrupt?
                    Love what is good..and hate what is bad for the JFJ,as you would your child.

The head resigns

Another one bites the dust.....MO

According to Osborne, while she fully supports the goal of providing legitimate educational initiatives to decrease the spread of HIV/AIDS, “such initiatives cannot be in violation of the law and a children’s homes programmes requires government approval since the government has loco parentis responsibilities for wards of the state.”

Obso‎rne succeeded Gomes as JFJ executive director in April this year

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...sborne-resigns
                      Last edited by Sir X; July 20, 2014, 06:31 PM.

Do not tell me I have to chalk up the blackboard for someone that professes to having been to good school.
                        Maybe my post in question is sound ergo why you can't be more specific.

You are gullible if you do not see the consensus is one of resentment to the programne,who is defending it,and more importantly why you think it would be well met by active parents?
                          Your reference to uptowners identifies the core value of the JFJ,after all it was the poor from the slums that were targeted for extrajudicial killngs.Having said that then the targeting of that most vulnerable amongst us is, at the very least,redefining for the JFJ.

She lacks teeth,this was just a glimpse of the many tumultuous future battles she woyld be engaged in.
                            She is giving too much credence to the JFJ,the first task was getting the house in order.

I am having difficulty imagining the imaginings of certain minds..

Soo.. please expand..