TDowl, do you remember a bread called ....

Why is it surprising?

Some of the best Jamaican baked product is on White Plains Rd in the Bronx. between Champion and Kingston Bakery.

Champion bread is good! There was a bakery in Toronto that was superb, can't remember the name.

Karl - yuh nuh send the shipment of naseberry yet? Put that in the memory bank!

all this talk is forcing me to guh patronise the captain by buying a 5lb bread! cho man!

Many of the Latin grocers in Florida sell a product that is almost identical in appearance and taste to Regal.

Yes. I seen and tried it.

It's OK.

I thought you (of all persons) would know the original Gratto; a biscut-like flakey (on the inside) sour-dough type bread.

Brother, I said I knew gratto well! I also knoew th old tune, "man of sorrow, bread and gratto..."

NO bread for you, just go fishing -- go ketch some sea bass

Originally posted by Westman View Post
                  I have a lot of family in Eastern Jamaica. From my childhood days, I remember them speaking fondly of gratto, bassanova and other specialty bread. There were numerous popular bakeries all around Portland and St Thomas. For numerous decades there were informal competitions among them. The older ones of you may have heard this expression and the follow up question: "Buff Bay Baker Boys Bake Bad Butter Bread.....How many B's are in that?"

By the way, since the 60's, I have enjoyed many different types of bread products, include gratto, all over Jamaica.
                  Just read your comment above.

I knew you knew....

i had a sandwich last night, captains bread and butterfish ....