Time for radical ideas.

Hey, it is very similar to your proposal on football. Brilliant and well sounding ideas, but when one dig a bit further, the challenge is how do you fund it. If we cannot start to put together some rational means of funding these proposals, then it is all wishful thinking.
    You started out well.... then it all went horribly wrong with this above.

Considering our active development projects in Jamaica I'm acutely acquainted with the requirement for affordability
    Consequently my proposals for youth football development were outstanding for their potential effectiveness AND their affordability... using the sunk costs of existing infrastructure and a robust self help model.
    The proposed centralized national youth academy and reformed high school competitions are exactly what is appropriate and doable for Jamaica

As to the required technical support in coaching and administrative skills transfer... my proposal was for an exchange of services with Brasil. That country would receive our world class track expertise and in exchange Jamaica accesses Brasil's football training talent to develop & motivate our kids. That barter arrangement is both affordable ...and brilliant

Jamaican football needs mature & visionary leadership to leverage whatever natural or other existing advantages it has. Track has done that with world class results over many decades.... it's past time for football to follow
    Last edited by Don1; July 8, 2014, 12:08 PM.

As to the required technical support in coaching and administrative skills transfer... my proposal was for an exchange of services with Brazil. That country would receive our world class track expertise and in exchange Jamaica accesses Brazil's football talent to develop our kids. That barter arrangement is both affordable ...and brilliant
      Plausible. The first time I have seen this from you.

OK, I rest. Run wid it.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...referrerid=298

Your measuring instrument is faulty...

OK. I guess the assumption is that I read every post. I don't remember you posting this idea when I was involved in the discussion and asked how would it be funded.

On another note, the suggestion makes the assumption that Brazil would be interested in the arrangement you have proposed. I guess though, if not Brazil, there could be others who may have an interest.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

On another note, the suggestion makes the assumption that Brazil would be interested in the arrangement you have proposed. I guess though, if not Brazil, there could be others who may have an interest.
              I can only propose... it's left for others to dispose

Kings House Willi? The people nuh want the UK Queen, so Kings House can go!!

Not if you offer them better!

How many of them have tikle, anyway? What if you offer them a starter kit with a definite tikle? The land is worth it!

Money is NOT the problem…willpower and vision is.

I am not talking about the foolishness on Old Hope Road. I am talking old King's house as the new Parliament. its is by far grander architecture and the lcation carries FAAAR more history.

So I was in Kingston a few weeks ago. The last time I was there was back in 2007 and I only went to certain parts to visit some friends. This time around, I ended up driving along Spanish Town Road through Three Miles onwards to Mandela Highway. I was taken aback by the absolute desolation of the communities along the route. When I lived in Jamaica, Spanish Town Road was my daily route, and it was desolate then, but it looks worse now. It looked like a place out of a Terminator movie. You don't want to be there at nightfall.

Jamaica is devoid of good leadership. The collective leaders given the task to govern the country, in both parties, but moreso in the PNP, are devoid of any new ideas or will to move the country forward. It is painful to watch the progressive destruction of our country by these vultures. There are multitudes of opportunities available to move Jamaica forward, but they require the guidance and most importantly the will of the goverment to implement and see to fruition.

I have said it here many times before that the history of Kingston and with it being the capital of Jamaica, given her geographical location, makes it possible to be Jamaica's biggest foreign currency earner which can outstrip all of the other tourist locations combined. It requires proper development and the will and financial investment from the government.

Jamaica is one of the few places in the world where oceanview properties on prime land is overrun and littered with ghettos. The entire strip of land that runs along the Kingston Harbour would be considered prime property in a more advanced soceity.....not Jamaica. Rockfort, Rae Town, Downtown, Seaview Gardens, Riverton etc, are all prime properties which should have high-end homes and commercial activities. Kingston should be developed as the primary metropolis of the caribbean, starting with downtown and expanding east and west. There should be more hotel room being built. The potential of Kingston is extensive, but we are stuck with the reality of Portia "talking" about developing the innercity.
                        http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...light=Riverton
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

U really think funding is our problem?

We only have a funding problem as we are looking money for CONSUMPTION!

U think Nicaragua have problems to raise the USD$40b to build a competing Canal to Panama?

We are sitting on a goldmine harbour in a superb nautical location. We haev tons of quality limestone and we are sitting on oodles of rare earth metals.

Its is harder to screw up than to succeed, but yet we manage the difficult well. LoL

I am warning everyone here that the young people in Jamaica are fed up and I have never seen stalwart people so desparate to leave Jamaica as now.

Pot a boil…we have to think big and radical or dawg nyam wi supper.

I agree Willi, come with a plan with teeth in it and private interest will front that money, why becuase what they put inthey get back a 100 times, our problem is no teeth and no plan.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Money is NOT the problem…willpower and vision is.
                              ok boss... i surrenda tuh dem logics deh

Thinking about this some more, I have decided that your funding soloution is not really feasible. For one, the exchange of technical expertise only addresses a very small part of what would be required to run the program. Think about it. I just do not feel like going into the obvious expenses which what your suggestion would not cover. The problem is, how would we cover the shortfall? And don't come with you put forward proposals and others have to find ways to see them through.