Time for radical ideas.

• Time for radical ideas.

Number one...Move the Political Capital back to Spanish Town where it can do more good, from St Andrew which is the de facto capital now. Metro Kingston has too much going on and planned to go on, to have to deal with the extra congestion of Capital duties.

Rebuild the Spanish Town Sq and the immediate envirnonment to accomodate a new Grand Parliament and Ministry buildings. Rebuild King's House and the Court House immediatley to recreate the splendour and traditional feel of Jamaica. Aprt form relieving Kgn congestion, you have Govt become more intimate with the people, you bring jobs back to Spanishg Town that was regrettably lost (most recently the industrial base was devastated by omardavis policies). Span Town used to have a fctory for every basic need..acid, button, steel, textile, rice, polish, cigarette, FIDCO, yeast, battery, pasta, etc...mostly all gone now. many dont realize that Spanish Town has over 200K people, so only Metro Kingston and Portmore are bigger and there is no real demarcation lines anymore as Greater Poirtmore is in a way Span Town.

You can keep the High Courts and the OPM where it is, but most of the Ministries should return to Spain. Kingston should be concentrating on maxxing out its Port potential and logistic Hub business, like a REAL Port city should. Downtown will naturally recover as it gets naturally regentrified. Its happening already.

The Min. of Tourism can move to Montego Bay amd Mining can move to Mandeville.

Time to decentralize, if we really want to free up Kingston to grow.

Wow..

Jamaica is madness.

Look at Kgn Waterfront, potentially the most valuable real estate on the island and what we do with it?

We build low income housing (Manley Gdns), we have prison(s) ...I include Ft Augusta, Mad House on the sea, we have perpetual open lands, we have city dump on prime Warehousing land, we have Tinson Pen surplus airport when we have Palisados close by, we allow the hi Riise building on Ocean Blvd to decay, Dolphin grill restaurant long gone, I could go on and on....

We are insane.

Blow up parliament, as a Realtor the potential is mind boggling for Kingston alone,that redesign by itself could drive our economy , I spoke on it as a quality of life issue (real estate political talk) to regentrify.

Real estate.
        Ganja
        Logistic Hub

Can all be driving factors of our economy, 1st though we need to blow up parliment,they serve their own interest and not the nations.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

LOL. No joke.

Number one...Move the Political Capital back to Spanish Town where it can do more good, from St Andrew which is the de facto capital now. Metro Kingston has too much going on and planned to go on, to have to deal with the extra congestion of Capital duties.

Rebuild the Spanish Town Sq and the immediate envirnonment to accomodate a new Grand Parliament and Ministry buildings. Rebuild King's House and the Court House immediatley to recreate the splendour and traditional feel of Jamaica. Aprt form relieving Kgn congestion, you have Govt become more intimate with the people, you bring jobs back to Spanishg Town that was regrettably lost (most recently the industrial base was devastated by omardavis policies). Span Town used to have a fctory for every basic need..acid, button, steel, textile, rice, polish, cigarette, FIDCO, yeast, battery, pasta, etc...mostly all gone now. many dont realize that Spanish Town has over 200K people, so only Metro Kingston and Portmore are bigger and there is no real demarcation lines anymore as Greater Poirtmore is in a way Span Town.

You can keep the High Courts and the OPM where it is, but most of the Ministries should return to Spain. Kingston should be concentrating on maxxing out its Port potential and logistic Hub business, like a REAL Port city should. Downtown will naturally recover as it gets naturally regentrified. Its happening already.

The Min. of Tourism can move to Montego Bay amd Mining can move to Mandeville.

Time to decentralize, if we really want to free up Kingston to grow.
            I like the idea of this spatial restructuring... very innovative, out-of-the-box thinking that would spur development

The 800 lb gorilla in the room is... who's gonna pay the US$1-2 Billion to move things around lika dat???
            Last edited by Don1; July 7, 2014, 12:56 PM.

You're absolutely correct of course... and this would be viable were Riverton, Tivoli, Greenwich Farm etc suburbs of Shanghai, Chengdu or Harbin. In those places all it takes is a decision by the authorities and people will line up to have their homes razed and have themselves transported to some remote location... with nary a whimper of protest or much compensation

Try move di Tivolite dem nuh... Hellfiya & Damnation

Bangarang.

Hmm.. this is a new twist..

Tivoli is preventing the re-development of Downtown...

lol ! woieee !!!

Poor Eddie.. give unnuh enough time and the story will be Eddie was preventing downtown redevelopment..

Yuh right.. we need that for Goat Island...

"we" need that for Goat Island????? "we" name Chiney???

mi belly!!!

I say Wow, as I know they cannot pass that test, Kingston is the only Capitol city that turn her back on one of the best harbor front, I certainly agree with your points/

You are off key.

suh wi nuh need dat deh money fi Goat Island ?

look like yuh need a remedial patois class..

Yuh tink lack of money is why Downtown stay suh ?

lol ! woiee !

The 800 lb gorilla in the room is... who's gonna pay the US$1-2 Billion to move things around lika dat???
                              It is customary for people on here to make these lofty proposals, while totally ignoring how these things would be funded, bearing in mind that Jamaica is a country that is cash strapped and need money to address even some very basic social services.

Hey, it is very similar to your proposal on football. Brilliant and well sounding ideas, but when one dig a bit further, the challenge is how do you fund it. If we cannot start to put together some rational means of funding these proposals, then it is all wishful thinking.
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran