• This is a sick bastard!

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=54108

They should lock him up for longer than 6 years.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Justice Vicki Ann Ellis, who handed down the sentences in the High Court on Thursday, ordered that they should run concurrently. This means that the father will only serve six years behind bars.

The judge also expressed disappointment with the maximum sentence for the sex crime, adding that it was regrettable that she could not have given a lengthier prison time.
    What am I missing here?

So why did she have them run concurrently? and not consecutively? nuh dat yu asking? she not sounding too bright but of course it's a news report so there is maybe some info. missing.

That's exactly what I am thinking! Doesn't she have that option?

Gamma?

Sick mi stomach.

it is very very rarely that we see a consecutive sentence. of course it does not infringe upon the length of each sentence. there are sentencing guidelines which govern those things although there is an argument for given judges more discretion in sentencing..

suppose a man had 3 charges...for years, 4 years and six years and they were consecutive.....it has to be determined which one he would serve first. suppose he appealed one and got the middle charge dismissed would he go to jail, get released and then go back to serve the other sentence?