Smith says Gordon House must create access for disabled

• Smith says Gordon House must create access for disabled

Smith says Gordon House must create access for disabled, before passing Disabilities Act

He was referring to the fact that there are neither escalators nor elevators at Gordon House, and physically challenged individuals are only able to access critical areas, like the public gallery, the library and the member’s conference rooms by being lifted up and carried upstairs.
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...sabilities-Act

I See His Point, But....

Smith says Gordon House must create access for disabled, before passing Disabilities Act
    Our leaders need to talk less and instead act with a greater sense of urgency; in other words, quit pussyfooting around! From one issue to the next, we are either incredibly slow in passing laws or in implementing laws already passed!

Realistically, though, I don’t expect coarse, “bling-focused” Jamaica to be genuinely sympathetic to people who face physical challenges. We have never ever been!! The sad fact, of course, is that aside from some aspects of our performance culture, we are not as progressive as many of us delude ourselves into believing. (Not even in track and field!)

But then again, isn’t this lack of creativity and real social focus (“unprogressiveness,” if there is such a word) the story of the entire Caribbean region? As far as a Disability Act is concerned, this has in recent times been one of the hot topics of CARICOM, but to date only Guyana seems to be implementing anything. The other regional countries seem to be merely giving hypocritical lip service to this very important issue.

What him talking bout? everybody in deh nuh areddi disabled or impaired?!?

Sorry, didn't realise he was talking about PHYSICAL disabilities...

Yuh too wikkid!

With all Jamaica's pressing problems???

Nah man, we have no ability to prioritize.