• so maya angelou was a sell her frontage

http://business.avn.com/articles/leg...ubIH1g.twitter

Amazing how with everything she has done,that is what is being highlighted.
    Some prostitute nations,she could've.... her race.
    RIP respected one.

She was a freak as a young lady. What if men had to sell themselves to women, would we view them with scorn like women? Doubt it. MLK had multiple affairs with women while he was active in the civil rights movement. He was with a woman the the night he was assassinated.

Agree, Horts and Rockman!

Amazing how with everything she has done,that is what is being highlighted.
        Some prostitute nations,she could've.... her race.
        RIP respected one.

Originally posted by Hortical
        She was a freak as a young lady. What if men had to sell themselves to women, would we view them with scorn like women? Doubt it. MLK had multiple affairs with women while he was active in the civil rights movement. He was with a woman the the night he was assassinated.
        Hortical and Rockman, I fully agree with every word you have both said here.

I didn’t even bother to click on the link! The lady has done so much positives for the battered-down image of African Americans, but I guess it’s no surprise that racists choose to focus on the negative in her past! Racists, like the gay lobby, will do anything to further their unending agenda!

By the way, Horts, you have rightly highlighted the double standards of today’s societies. For instance, women who engage in sex with multiple partners are scornfully regarded as “sluts”, while men who do the same (and even worse) are euphemistically referred to as “players” (or “playas”)!

This thread should not have been started in the first place!

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
          Why do you say she was a freak?
          Her many great accomplishments or her versatility? - Calypso and Jazz singer...writer...poet...philosopher...etc.?

...and on the men v women sexual partners statement - You are bang on with women getting very, very, very unfair deal!!!!

it is being highlighted? really? what is wrong with the story? did anyone on this forum even see the article before I posted it? angelou wrote about it herself...should she not have "highlighted" it?

May not have seen the article you posted - have not read the post say the highlighted item...but as you say this revelation has been out there form 'wappie was a bwoy!'

This is an example of why prostitution should be legal. Had things turned out differently this great woman could have been stigmatized for life because of this short term career choice.

Victimless crime.

I am still amazed at all she went through and the heights she achieved in life. Hell, so she experimented with prostitution in her earlier years, but she didn't let that define her! She moved on and chartered a path where her life could be considered an example for many. I have a lot of respect for that woman, prostitution and all.
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

He was with a woman the the night he was assassinated.
                    Not sure if that is correct. He was assassinated at 6:05PM on April 4th 1968.

King had arrived in Tennessee on Wednesday, 3 April to prepare for a march the following Monday on behalf of striking Memphis sanitation workers. As he prepared to leave the Lorraine Motel for a dinner at the home of Memphis minister Samuel ‘‘Billy’’ Kyles, King stepped out onto the balcony of room 306 to speak with Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC) colleagues standing in the parking area below. An assassin fired a single shot that caused severe wounds to the lower right side of his face. SCLC aides rushed to him, and Ralph Abernathy cradled King’s head. Others on the balcony pointed across the street toward the rear of a boarding house on South Main Street where the shot seemed to have originated. An ambulance rushed King to St. Joseph’s Hospital, where doctors pronounced him dead at 7:05 P.M.
                    Read more. . .
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It is THE story.

Takes nothing away from her,if not it enhances her.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am pretty sure the % of prostitutes when asked would say, it was no victimless crime with them being a victim to as you stated a male dominated hypocritical racist world where oppourtunities to advance were rare, as it was in her time,burt she advanced.

Maya probably said it too.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ah, so we have a criminal offence where the victim is the one who is typically charged for the crime. What other crime is like that?

If it was not illegal she could go to the police, but....

And I am sure she was not ashamed of it. Maybe just doing what she had to do to survive. . .