• The Good School vs Bad School conundrum

Some Schools More Equal Than Others
    Published: Monday | June 16, 2014 1 Comment
    R. Howard Thompson, Guest Columnist

Last Thursday, I watched one of the better programmes I have seen to date dealing with education, on Impact With Cliff Hughes. The teacher from Immaculate, Ms Castriota, was quite candid, for the most part, in acknowledging that the successful outcomes at the school have been primarily a reflection of the quality of students coming in.

At last, somebody in the press is beginning to realise that the ranking reflects primarily what goes in from GSAT. However, she was being a little less than candid when she declared that there was no screening at Immaculate, as if the system does not do that at grade seven.

The entire traditional high-school system has been built, historically, on a process of screening, going back to the days of entrance examinations that used to be required for entry. These so-called top schools are merely filter plants for children from grade six.

There is ample evidence that something other than random selection is in play,hard to explain why family members spanning multiple generations attended a particular school.Those students weren't the brightest though.
    In any event,I think our problem has more to do with teachers rather than some shadowy figure bent on placing top students to top schools.Really,are high school teachers unable to impact their students as primary school ones?
    Top teachers may have a preference for top schools.

Why Campion tek ovah ah evening time by children in other school uniform ?

Are Harvard,Stanford and MIT good schools ?

Some good points made, we have a system of high school placement that is archaic.

I would disagree though that the report is of no value. It does have value if it is used for the right reasons, ie not to determine if Immaculate is a better school than Campion, but to give us some insight as to why a school with an inferior GSAT intake is outperforming and one with a superior intake is underperforming.

Are there obvious patterns that emerge like the ones you have suggested, for example that boys schools tend to underperform? What can we do about it?

Mi hear seh Campion is di bestest school innah di Caribbean..

Some good points made, we have a system of high school placement that is archaic.

I would disagree though that the report is of no value. It does have value if it is used for the right reasons, ie not to determine if Immaculate is a better school than Campion, but to give us some insight as to why a school with an inferior GSAT intake is outperforming and one with a superior intake is underperforming.

Are there obvious patterns that emerge like the ones you have suggested, for example that boys schools tend to underperform? What can we do about it?
              Aaaaah.... you have identified the key lessons that the discerning should learn from these research studies

Good chat, sah!

Yuh really tink suh?!?!

Best Government school by far... probably best Public school in the Western Hemisphere !

wooiieee! ok sah!

Unnu doing well recently but it look like it gone tuh yuh head... an affliction of di hurry-come-up, just come set

Wake wi up wen unnu budge di national development needle.....i.e. wen any ah unnu build national institutions ar any ah unnu image deh pon money

Dat might be round 2114... woiiiee mi cryonics!!!!

Michael Manley image deh pon money.. so much for that..

lol