US Citizens need visa for Brazil - What?

We have expedited several passports to the Brazillian embassy (in ATL)-- with return tracking back to the customers.

So this requirement is very well established.
    How does this help new Yorkers when we are told that we must apply in New York City :

http://brazil.travisa.com/VisaInstru...S&PartnerID=ta

You need a visa to enter Kenya too, and you can purchase it at airport on landing.

Really? So there is no way to get it ahead of time, you haffe spend the plane fare and hope them let you in?
        You would have to be a Terrorist, for them to block you in Ethiopia. Remember that years ago, Canada operated the same way, you could buy your ticket, hop on the plane and it was up to Immigration to let you in when you landed.

There is an Agency on E 42nd Street in NYC that you can pay to get the Visa for you. My company uses it all the time. I forgot the name of it.

Brazil maintains strict reciprocity in diplomatic matters. Canadian need visas too.

Really? So there is no way to get it ahead of time, you haffe spend the plane fare and hope them let you in?
                Same thing in Vietnam. But usually, someone in Vietnam would have already put you on a list so the immigration people would be expecting you.

Few countries interrogate travellers applying for visas. It is just an application thing, so it does not matter at what point you apply for it. Is because we use to the invasive interviews that our US embassy put us through!

Brazil maintains strict reciprocity in diplomatic matters. Canadian need visas too.
                  Strict is right. Whatever you charge their citizens to get visas for your country, same ting dem going to charge you. US citizens have to pay around $160 or something like that, way more than most other countries who generally pay $30 or $40!

I like that!

We too follow fashion and late with it. U see the new immigration form, it looks like the one the US has abandoned.

Also when you enter the country with a valid Jakan passport, I dont understand all the 20 question dem feel to ask, like dem can stop man from enter!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                      America is a super power with a huge potential for football! Politics and football don't mix. Brazil needs to understand why Uncle Sam imposed visa restrictions on Brazil and cool it. We need to fix this for the Olympics. No visa for US Citizens for the Olympics!
                      Fine! But don't hold your breath!

I think Brazil also fingerscans and photographs US citizens, just as the US subjects the rest of the world with their post-911 rules. US squealed about it and Brazil did not blink!

I like that country!

I had to advise a very prominent Jamaican football official to apply for the visa. He had already bought his ticket and was ready to leave in 2 days!

I thought the Brazil embassy in Jamaica had mentioned something about waiving the visa requirement for Jamaicans for the WC. I guess that did not happen.

Yup,

And US citizens have to take fingerprints and pictures, just like in America, but the Brazillians junk the data.

Blame the GOJ. Many of these visas could have been negotiated away long ago by a proactive Guvvament.

These politicians forget about visas when dem in power as it nuh boddah dem.

You funny though!

We too follow fashion and late with it. U see the new immigration form, it looks like the one the US has abandoned.

Also when you enter the country with a valid Jakan passport, I dont understand all the 20 question dem feel to ask, like dem can stop man from enter!
                                I know! Fools! People just need to seem important in dat place eh!