The Bowe Bergdahl Swap

• The Bowe Bergdahl Swap

What's your thoughts on this? 5 high-risk Talibans for 1 American??? I think he must be an extremely valuable asset for the President to make such a decision knowing the reprucussions. Everything is not or maybe cannot be disclosed to the public.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Your last sentence explain it IMO.

Furthermore, those 5 Talibans should not feel safe.

Drone

If it was my family member or friend I'd want a deal reached for him too.

Even a casual split-second look suggests, excellent deal!

Bergdahl is a deserter who abandoned his post and left without his rifle according his former colleagues. Susan Rice was praising the deserter before she knew all the facts about his disapearance. It was a big mistake to trade him for 5 Taliban "generals".

Let's wait and see Hortical.

It would be such a 'fly in the ointment' if all 5 Taliban 'generals" have a press conference denouncing terrorism--thanking Obama for his leadership..etc...etc...

There is new information that 5 or 6 soldiers killed in search for Bergbahl's is false>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.

Let's see how this plays out:

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Bergdahl is a deserter who abandoned his post and left without his rifle according his former colleagues. Susan Rice was praising the deserter before she knew all the facts about his disapearance. It was a big mistake to trade him for 5 Taliban "generals".
              Where is all the talk of not leaving a man behind? If he was your relative, deserter or not, wouldn't you want him home? If an investigation shows that he is a deserter, then he should face the music but a lot of the noise is because it was done by this president. Had he decided to leave him with the Taliban then we'd be hearing how could he ....?

Obama has been getting ALL good breaks so far.

ObamaCare.....working fairly well
                Syria....working fairly well
                Russia invading Ukraine...working out fairly well

The list goes on.

I think this will work in his favor too.

Can't agree with you on that one HL. I don't think he has got many breaks at all.

ObamaCare is mostly unpopular, though a lot of the criticism is unfair. The Democrats are still hiding from it like the plague in their mid-term campaigns. I do think that history will ultimately judge it to be a successful program but I don't see public approval for it going positive while he is still in office.

Syria is a mess, al-Assad has survived and the White House seems to be out of ideas as to how to get rid of him.

This VA scandal has brought him more criticism and distraction than I think is justified.

Fortunately he has not got tangled up in the Russia-Ukraine standoff, but his overall job approval is stuck in GW Bush territory which can hardly be considered impressive.

Regarding the prisoner swap, I agree with the sentiment that there is probably more to this story than is being made public.

Let's wait and see Hortical.

It would be such a 'fly in the ointment' if all 5 Taliban 'generals" have a press conference denouncing terrorism--thanking Obama for his leadership..etc...etc...

There is new information that 5 or 6 soldiers killed in search for Bergbahl's is false>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>.

Let's see how this plays out:
                    Yuh seit tuh, HL!!!

1. The matter of the Bergbahl being a deserter is immaterial to the act of bringing him home. That noise on the cloud surrounding his capture is a typical ruse by politicians who considers us fools. That red-herring distracts some of us from the creed - "No soldier left behind".

2. It is without doubt very important to be truthful on the manner of his leaving his post. An entirely separate issue.

Important to note that all the politicians know that he shall be wrung dry on facts of:
                    a) his leaving his post;

b) his 5 years of observations and knowledge on terrain, culture/habits and operations of his captors. A veritable treasure trove of intelligence.

c) ...and that both "a" and "b" above shall factor in 'our going forward'...
                    e.g...
                    i) our support services to our troops in action;

ii) future interaction with the Taliban - as we seek peace, etc;

iii) future military actions ...inclusive of neutralizing of the Taliban as anti-US force.

3. Without going into details on the many reason why releasing 5 members of the Taliban who had been incarcerated for more than 10 years without contact to there former comrades or others in the cause with which they were involved, it is a mere snap of the finger/causal arousal of 'brain power' to recognize that during those 10 years they were away,
                    i) their posts were filled by others;

ii) assets - both human and other have been move, upgraded, etc.= deployment has been upgraded;

iii) operations have been improved;

iv) technological and physical advances in communication, weapon systems and transportation have occurred over period of their absence.

In a nutshell they shall at best add little to 'operations'...as sophistication of operations would have advance 'light-years' beyond their past knowledge.

One thought among many: -> We could go into 'the how' they are being used/and speculate on how they can be used to penetrate and lead to current hard to trace or even unknown senior members/VIPs within the Taliban during the process of their reestablishment of contact within their former sphere of influence or new sphere of operations.

Yup! ...the politicians know about this treasure trove of value the insertion of 'the 5' back into the field presents.

The politicians also know that many voters tend to instinctively react in a visceral manner rather than in a deliberate cerebral way and thus they feed us the current crap.

If you think in terms of the dire consequences of Obamas' action-- pushed by the GOP; one would conclude that Obama has worked his way out most problems of these problems quite satisfactorily.
                      Last edited by HL; June 4, 2014, 04:49 PM.

it's like a presidential pardon from a lame duck president

How so...a pardon?

he can pardon whomever he wants for whatever reason he wants and no one can do anything about it as he will not be running for office again.

clinton and bush had a bunch of controversial ones...

he can pardon whomever he wants for whatever reason he wants and no one can do anything about it as he will not be running for office again.

clinton and bush had a bunch of controversial ones...
                              That I know...but please connect the lines for me on how you equate this act of 'fetching' that soldier home with a pardon? Certainly there must be a thorough investigation on his conduct particularly as it concerns how he came to have left his post? Wouldn't the pardon not come after such an investigation followed by a hearing and finally verdict?