I saw that in an episode of The Blacklist. The bad guy deployed the car's airbag which caused the driver to crash. Did anyone watch the Edward Snowden interview Special? He said what got to him was seeing how the agency was able to watch your every keystroke, backspace and pauses which is basically profiling your personality and your thought process. You are already profiled once you go on to any website, but the thought of someone sitting remotely and watching you and how your thoughts are created is scary.
Funny Snowden never mentioned the dangers when foreign governments or agencies use of that self-same technology? ...and the increased danger of not having our own counter activities?
Guess the conclusion should be 'fold arms' and give the foreign governments full reign?????
btw - There has been for some appreciable time available and there still is software available to the public that provides that ability to 'watch everything' we do on our 'computers' (devises that connect to the internet).
Guess those who did not think on "anything man can do, he can also undo - probe about within and use for good or evil" are not scared since 'walking up' to that reality. No thought on, "hell that has always been possible and must have been done by some and shall surely be done by more and more people as time goes on? ...and... When I never knew of those 'happenings' I was never scared about same...so what the hell will being scared do for me?"...then perhaps leaving fear behind and move forward secure in the thought that 'the world goes on' and going on about their daily lives? Right?
This is merely the tip of "The Brave New World". It cannot be turned back but can have limited harmful scope only to the extent of the 'goodness' of 'the operators'. Edward Snowden clearly trended to the side of the 'bad guys'. His actions, I am convinced, have caused agents of the USA to be 'put down', retirement of equipment that have been compromised and tremendous deployment and re-deployment of assets i.e. humans and 'equipment' costing the US tax-payer multi/mega-trillions. Guess if what I am thinking on those losses is anywhere even near the scope of damage that resulted some think he is a hero for so harming 'his country' and 'his fellow citizens'????
Most cars I know they ignition key can be used to manually open the doors if the remote fails. I cannot say for sure about VW, but I cannot think why they would make it totally keyless.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
That is funny as my Explorer and Fusion (both Fords) did not have that problem. The Explorer and your Sport Track were basically the same vehicles too (similar year or close from what I recall).
The only time I had to do a reprogram of the key fob is when I decided to buy a new fob for my Explorer, as the one I used everyday was going bad. So that the new one would work with the car, I had to put it through the programing steps. It then required the other fobs I intended to use with the vehicle to be reprogrammed at that time. The old fob I was replacing was not reprogrammed and therefore would no longer function after the programing steps were done on the ones which would see use.
I have owned Nissan and Toyota too that didn't have that problem you guys describe. Never owned a Honda, so I can't say about the Ridgeline.
Yes, you pop open the darn thing, identify the battery and purchase a replacement. Couldn't be easier. A battery change on these things should not require reprograming.
You nailed it on the head Tilla.
I was never a good mechanic, but I remember when i could change the plugs (and maybe change oil) in the older model cars. Not now. The darn engine is covered--you don't know where to start.
I don't do too much of the mechanic work either. Oil changes, brakes and other services, I usually take it somewhere to get it done. I would have had the dealer program my fob when I brought it, but I needed to have the spare with me as they needed to be done together. I didn't have the spare, so he said I could do it myself by following the instructions in the owner's manual. I decided to go that route.
Yes, under the hood of now a day cars are so congested that it is a turn off to try to do anything under there.
I was never a good mechanic, but I remember when i could change the plugs (and maybe change oil) in the older model cars. Not now. The darn engine is covered--you don't know where to start.
My car is keyless and you know what, the focking instructions ARE in the focking manual. Thanks HL.....now you tell me.
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
It is a defense...or pragmatic stance?
Take the big debate on the release of 5 Taliban detainees: Has the US released 5 person (former fighters) held xxx years who -
a) The US wrung dry of info;
b) have been replaced during their absence by younger 'turks';
c) have nothing to add in terms to the changed country they will be returning to (save possible being older and more easily placated and wishing for their 'line' to live long, peaceful prosperous lives that ensures that after they are dead their lives will be remembered);
d) can be followed using the technology (...and other means) under discussion in this thread --- and who could possible lead to vital intelligence - persons/current Taliban's VIPs & other assets belonging to the Taliban;
e) have been turned and can be used to further US interests?
...am sure you can also continue following the mindset...
Boss, sometimes you have me guessing about...
Man it is crazy. I remember when you go to the dealer and cut a key for under 20 dollars. Yeah man when you had a carbarator etc but now it is all a chip and god forbid if that chip is malfunctioning. The Engines are covered and full of sensor. I had to replace a transmission two years ago and the mechanic told me if it was newer car the price would be close to double. It is amazing the technology involved and not even some of the dealers can actually work on the cars.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
fallacious argument...appeal to common practices...so because everybody does it...even though it is illegal it is okay? tracking a released terrorism prisoner is a bit different than mass interception of citizen communication...don't you think Karl?