• JLP promises to abolish cost sharing

TK Whyte
    Thursday, May 24, 2007

PORTMORE, St Catherine - The opposition Jamaica Labour Party is promising to abolish cost sharing in high schools if it wins the election.
    Opposition Spokesman on Finance Audley Shaw said this is an "irrevocable commitment", one that will cost the JLP government an additional $700 million in the budget.
    "If elections are held before back to school in September, and we are successful at the polls, then our commitment begins at back to school in September where the cost sharing will be cut out of the public high school system," Shaw told a G2K forum at Southborough Primary School in St Catherine Tuesday. "[But] if the elections are held after September, then it will be triggered for the January 2008 term in the high schools. We do not intend to resile from that position."
    Shaw said the JLP had made the commitment during the 2002 general elections, but claimed that the PNP - which introduced the cost sharing programme - promised to abolish it by 2005, but has failed to honour their commitment.
    The system, he said, is a strain on parents' pocket, and the JLP will find the money to accommodate it.
    "The US$43-million overrun on Sandals Whitehouse. that alone could have financed the cost sharing scheme for five years," he said. "That is a part of the solution to finding budgetary space for critical social projects like this."

Mosiah, what yuh say, empty promises?

Yep free fi go learn how fi
      weave basket

Yep free fi go learn how fi
        weave basket
        ... easy yuhself Comrade. Even that better that sidung naah duh nutthin.

yet when Joshua came in and
          find many illiterate and unskilled; he gave them some crash program work. Your party opposed it.Why can't we dispel the slavery menatlity once and for all. The president of Pakistan told his people that they may have to "eat grass" but they must get a nuclear weapon.According to Garvey we are always looking to full our belly. Can't we sacrifice and make sure that JA has some quality software engineers; this way we can take our stand in the 21st century. Small wonder people like you call college students lazy, nuh waan werk and professional students.The mentality is to lower ourselves to that state of servitude and we cannot see ourselves blazing trails in this world. God help Ja.

Easy yuhself Comrade. Yuh drinking too much coffee. How many software engineers we produce in the last 18 years? MEk Mosiah tell yuh how much a we students nuh pass 1 exam. Please ... you nuh suppose to quote Garvey, especially to me.

If you nuh understand the need for an educated labour force, leave it alone.

Yes, I think so.

You get the mail?

But Mo,

Dem HEART in the right place!!! Gi dem a chance, nuh.

Nuh suh mny from the other party reason? LoL

I dont know if its possible, but I would not advise them to attempt it before at least 2 years, as one has to analyse what one inherits.

Yuh juss mek mi laugh
                    all di time. I understand the need for an educated labour force this is why I'm opposed to basket weaving. Yuh know why so much students a fail? Hunger. Instead of free education I would rather see free meals or the govt. giving vouchers for certain bakeries ensuring that the high schools students are well fed. Tell me what is free and is quality at the same time. I think you should leave it alone.

Jawge, you cannot be taken seriously. No matter what the JLP say, you'll have a problem with it.

Did I have problem with the
                        fire trucks? Boss it's the pork barrel politics mi cyaan tek. Your party is not serious about Education.

"Tell me what is free and is quality at the same time. I think you should leave it alone."

You comrades are so comical. Does Barbados have quality education? You are such a comic!

Did I have problem with the
                            fire trucks? Boss it's the pork barrel politics mi cyaan tek. Your party is not serious about Education.
                            You and Mosiah simply assuming! If they should become the next gov't and start change dem tune, then we all hold dem accountable, but every proposal dem put forward, yuh simply assume dem nuh serious.

After 18 years under this set a clowns, it is clear who not serious.

yet when Joshua came in and
                              find many illiterate and unskilled; he gave them some crash program work. Your party opposed it.Why can't we dispel the slavery menatlity once and for all. The president of Pakistan told his people that they may have to "eat grass" but they must get a nuclear weapon.According to Garvey we are always looking to full our belly. Can't we sacrifice and make sure that JA has some quality software engineers; this way we can take our stand in the 21st century. Small wonder people like you call college students lazy, nuh waan werk and professional students.The mentality is to lower ourselves to that state of servitude and we cannot see ourselves blazing trails in this world. God help Ja.
                              There are almost 600,000 people of working age that have not passed any examination at any level.

What do you propose to do with them ? Enroll them in Software Engineering school ?

Why does a tourist like yourself think you can participate in informed dialogue on what steps are required to move Jamaica forward ?
                              Last edited by Muadib; May 24, 2007, 04:12 PM.