"Portia seh wi nuh fi beat de bybwoy dem ... . (Pause ... sigh ... .) Awright!"
Even today remembering it, I crack up. You will recall the backdrop to the question was Golding's "Not in my Cabinet!", which defiantly telegraphed a completely different attitude. Sitting at the bar, I thought to myself, as I still do, that the path to greater empathy and tolerance - some would say moral advance - can be spectacularly non-linear. And speaking of advances and reversals, consider how the heavy-handed overkill where Dr Bain has been told "Not in our Cabinet either!" has outraged and galvanised the citizenry.
The anti-buggery law should be reviewed, but my opinion is not doctrinaire, just weak and provisional. It is based on the intellectual appeal of a basic 'live and let live (die?)' libertarianism where, when possible, we allow people to lead their own lives. But even more so, it's based on an emotional aversion to the cruelty against homosexuals that I have witnessed.
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure4.html
Even today remembering it, I crack up. You will recall the backdrop to the question was Golding's "Not in my Cabinet!", which defiantly telegraphed a completely different attitude. Sitting at the bar, I thought to myself, as I still do, that the path to greater empathy and tolerance - some would say moral advance - can be spectacularly non-linear. And speaking of advances and reversals, consider how the heavy-handed overkill where Dr Bain has been told "Not in our Cabinet either!" has outraged and galvanised the citizenry.
The anti-buggery law should be reviewed, but my opinion is not doctrinaire, just weak and provisional. It is based on the intellectual appeal of a basic 'live and let live (die?)' libertarianism where, when possible, we allow people to lead their own lives. But even more so, it's based on an emotional aversion to the cruelty against homosexuals that I have witnessed.
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure4.html