• Intolerant UWI

Intolerant UWI
    Published: Friday | May 23, 2014 0 Comments

The University of the West Indies (UWI) has fired Professor Brendan Bain, one of the leading experts in the world in the diagnosis and treatment of HIV/AIDS, as the director of the Caribbean HIV/AIDS Regional Training (CHART) Network. The reason they have given is that Professor Brendan Bain has "lost the confidence and support of a significant sector of the community which the CHART programme is expected to reach".

But who is the CHART Network expected to reach? Consult the official website of the CHART Network and you will see that "the mission of the CHART Network is to continually strengthen the capacity of national health-care personnel and systems to provide access to quality HIV & AIDS prevention, care, treatment, and support services for all Caribbean people". The purpose of CHART is to train health-care workers in Jamaica and across CARICOM to be better able to prevent HIV & AIDS, and to treat people already infected with the virus.

So the primary "community which the CHART programme is expected to reach" is CARICOM health-care workers. And those trained CARICOM health-care workers will interact with two different secondary groups: a much larger group - those who DO NOT have the virus (to target them with prevention strategies); and a much smaller group - those who already have HIV/AIDS (to treat their symptoms and their infection). These two groups include every human living within CARICOM, including you who read this.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure4.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I support Mr Bain as a clinician and a lay person, given what I have read, nothing he said isnt true.The foolishness that I read where the testimony he gave isnt based on his research is ridiculous, he cited the CDC documented in every medical journal in the world and taught in every medical school in every facet of medical education, from PCA,Techs,Nursing,PAs, NPs to MDs.There is a higher incidence of HIV/AIDS amongst gay men ,higher even in the AFRO/AMERICAN GAY community.

The legality of homosexuality and the increase in risky behavior has been documented in europe in every nation that has legalised homosexuality,increase in HIV/AIDS rates, increase in marriage and divorces across the board especially in same sex marriages.Marriage is basically a joke ,it no longer becomes an institution and an increase in abortion rates.

Basically societal values as we know them become 1st world...lol...There is no GOD.

Dem same people dem a fight di weed.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

That is a first world phenomenon X.

The vast majority of HIV cases in the world today are heterosexual.

Interestingly the highest cases of HIV in the world are also in places where homosexuality is ILLEGAL, ie sub Saharan Africa. There is no question that HIV got its start in the gay community but things have changed drastically since then.

One can take a position against anti-gay marriage, adoption, etc for other reasons but using HIV as a reason to have anti-gay laws is not logical. There have been many hetero-sexual based STDs in the world , the tool for fighting them is awareness and protection,not anti-sex laws.
      Last edited by Islandman; May 23, 2014, 07:36 AM.

Of course its changed its legalized transmission same sex marriages you have tom marrying to tom whose average divorce rate is 3 to 5 yrs then Tom divorces tom and marries Mary or beds her and goes on to Marry Ted and the cycle goes on increase in STDs divorces and abortion, HIV rates in 3rd world nations would quadruple if we took that route as much as we don't want to admit it the buggery laws is a saving grace.

What the agenda doesn't want to say is The 1st world can afford it,HIV isn't high on the mortality chart ,they are living longer ,all because of accesiabilty to HIV drugs which is you guessed it subsidized ,so let's go ahead and legalize it in Jamaica lets see who is going to subsidize it in our capitalists IMF Jamaica.

LOL, Same sex marriages are about 10 years old, HIV is 30 years old. Do the math. Better you blame the man dem pon the down low.

I doubt making it legal would move the HIV needle much in places like Haiti and Kenya. I suspect all the gays in the 3rd world are having just as much sex as they would if it was legal.

I don't think UWI really wanted to fire him but they probably saw what was coming, funding cut off , etc.

The world has changed.

Of course its changed its legalized transmission same sex marriages you have tom marrying to tom whose average divorce rate is 3 to 5 yrs then Tom divorces tom and marries Mary or beds her and goes on to Marry Ted and the cycle goes on increase in STDs divorces and abortion, HIV rates in 3rd world nations would quadruple if we took that route as much as we don't want to admit it the buggery laws is a saving grace.
              Just like keeping marijuana illegal?

The stigma attached to weed is the problem,in the looong list of drugs,weed is the least,regarding desease,where would you rank aids?

10 years in the USA and how much in northern Europe ? Thats the case study,you think it won't rise in 3rd world nations ,who is going to subsidized HIV meds in IMF 3rd world nations?

There has been an increase in blood transmission diseases closely linked to HIV hep A B anc now C..HPV in both men and women.Coincidental it is happening in this recent liberalization of marriage and HIV patients living longer and normal lives due to subsidized medications. The fear is unprotected sex isnt as feared as it once was because of the above.

HIV/Aids has two spheres 1and 3rd world ,it all comes down to access to healthcare ,1st world nations have controlled it due to subsidized healthcare ,it is not in the top 4 diseases in the 1st world.

3rd world must be judged on an individual nation basis.
                      Last edited by Sir X; May 23, 2014, 09:03 AM.

Are you asking if I think HIV infection would rise in Third World nations if homosexuality was legal? No I don't given where we are today in the fight against HIV. It might even result in more homosexual HIV infected people coming forward to get treatment which, in my view, would be a good thing.

It is impractical to think you can control the spread of a sexually transmitted disease by banning a consensual sexual practice. Might work in a communist / fascist country but not in a society we want to live in. If an STD comes along that is spread through oral sex, would you support making blow jobs illegal as a way to control it? Or would you try to increase awareness and safer oral sex practices? I think you know the answer.

Decent and fair minded people look past sexual orientation when dealing with a deadly disease that does not discriminate based on age, sex, race nor sexual orientation. The enemy is HIV/AIDS, not homosexuals.

There is an argument which says that HIV infected homosexuals are less likely to seek treatment when they are discriminated against. I don't know if it true but it makes a lot more sense than the argument that making it illegal will contain the spread, when the results are very clear that it will spread regardless as long as people are having indiscriminate unprotected sex.
                        Last edited by Islandman; May 23, 2014, 09:46 AM.

Disagree with you on the simple reasoning that we don't have the finances to subsidized the healthcare cost of medication, when you address that I would lean to your line of reasoning.

LOL, good one.

Those anti-weed laws have been really effective in controlling the smoking of weed, haven't they? Without them we would have drug induced zombies all over the island!

It can't be true,the problem here in the US(where it is legal) is members of the homosexual community have an aversion to being tested,something about living longer not knowing.