Who cyaan hear must focking feel. I

My local representative toured our town and rang my doorbell when he was seeking re-election. I told him I can only promise him one thing, when I check the state site, if he voted with Christie to screw the voters, I will be voting against him. When I checked, he didn't vote with the gov., so he got my vote.

Christie is not a king, but he is a bully. It has come out that those who don't side with him, are starved of funds.
    Not hijacking your posting Lazie; but you would be surprised to know that lots of Blacks in NJ vote republican...'specially for the governors' race.

Remember Christie Whitman....?

The republican party has the leaders of large black churches wraped up. They deliver votes in bulk. I know this as a fact.

Exhibit 1. Pastor Soaries (I give him ratings still)
    http://churchexecutive.com/archives/...ns-somerset-nj

The Republican party at the state level and the Republican party at the national level are not one and the same.

There are far more Republican Governors than Democrat ones, which means that many people are voting for Republican governors but voted for Obama twice.

Lazie see red everytime Christie name call.

Even with the BridgeGate scandal, the mans approval rating in NJ is still at 50% or thereabouts. This is for a Republican in a blue state. That alone says a lot about what people think of his policies.

He is certainly a bully and worse than that, a vindictive person. However, the man also makes tough decisions that others would run away from.

Sass,there is much truth to what X is saying.
          Toobig to fail,Wall Street and Vanks benefited from corporate welfare,it is Govt enacting policies....

Russia is like early 1900 America in terms of capitalist infancy. Dem situated nicely between China and Western Europe, the beauty of capitalism is every nation coins it on their terms cc: ChinaBrazil and the Usa

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Let me ask, was there a time of crisis where capitalist government fail to intervene???? While I don't like the fact that some people get and others don't in any capitalist country in the world a government will intervene in crisis, but are they been transparent, helpful, honest and above board?

The fact is some us talking about capitalism in extreme term, and currently only North Korea I can see as an extreme socialist country. Good countries find systems that work for them and use proper governance structure.

The world is getting away from absolute term. Capitalism doesn't mean government doesn't play a role in equity, social development and upliftment of the nation. That is one of biggest propaganda there is. Pure capitalism is only in textbook.

In other words there is no uniform standard of capitalism ,to the point where capitalism embraces socialism be it for the rich e.g wall street bail out sub sibsidized farmer or poor subsidize housing Section 8....So the question is why is it a problem when 3rd world nations do this in the west eyes and some of us eyes.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

It is not the first time that a capitalist government bail out wall street and it won't be the last, they did in the great depression and they will do it again. The big difference is as stated it is a 'bail out" a one shot deal to get the economy back on track. Social programs have been around in capitalism for the longest time. They also bailed out Europe with the Marshall Plan, just in case you fail to realize. There is a big difference in social program as oppose to socialism. You need to see the difference. Show me a capitalist state or country that doesn't provide social programs. That is the basic work of any government to provide food, shelter, housing, education and security for its people.

Excellent post Sass.

Pure capitalism is only in textbook.
                    Absolutely, and the same for pure socialism. Neither has ever been practiced in absolute terms and probably should not be.

HOWEVER, I will maintain that capitalist-based free market policies have been much more successful in lifting people out of poverty than any form of socialism I have seen practiced.

Adam Smith beats Karl Marx hands down in the real word. It is not even close.

China ?

Ahh yes, China. Even they eventually came around after realizing the folly of their ways. God Bless Deng Xiaoping, one of historys great transformative leaders.

In 1978, the farmers in a small Chinese village called Xiaogang gathered in a mud hut to sign a secret contract. They thought it might get them executed. Instead, it wound up transforming China's economy in ways that are still reverberating today.
                        In theory, the government would take what the collective grew, and would also distribute food to each family. There was no incentive to work hard — to go out to the fields early, to put in extra effort, Yen Jingchang says.

"Work hard, don't work hard — everyone gets the same," he says. "So people don't want to work."

In Xiaogang there was never enough food, and the farmers often had to go to other villages to beg. Their children were going hungry. They were desperate.

So, in the winter of 1978, after another terrible harvest, they came up with an idea: Rather than farm as a collective, each family would get to farm its own plot of land. If a family grew a lot of food, that family could keep some of the harvest.
                        At the end of the season, they had an enormous harvest: more, Yen Hongchang says, than in the previous five years combined.

That huge harvest gave them away. Local officials figured out that the farmers had divided up the land, and word of what had happened in Xiaogang made its way up the Communist Party chain of command.
                        Full Story:
                        http://www.npr.org/blogs/money/2012/...nsformed-china
                        Last edited by Islandman; May 22, 2014, 01:54 PM.

Rhatid me was just going to foolishly say dat LKY nuh have nutten over Deng and then me read this:

In November 1978, after the country had stabilized following political turmoil, Deng visited Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur and Singapore and met with Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, who advised him to open up and institute reforms, as well as to stop exporting Communist ideologies in Southeast Asia.[27] Later, Deng sent tens of thousands of Chinese to Singapore to study.
                          My SINCERE apologies Ben, I will sin no more!

A communist government lifting its people out of poverty by employing free enterprise in a communist governmental system.

Brillant.I think they will call it communism the chinese way, or capitalism China style.

Whatever it is , its not coming west anytime soon as anything to emulate in terms of governance or capitalism.

It is brilliant. It is a central-government planned economy that allows for free enterprise and the building of personal wealth.

I guess there is still some communism there in terms of the restrictions on democracy and personal freedom, but in terms of economic policy what they are practicing is nothing like Karl Marx had in mind .

They found a mix that works for them, for now. So has India which also struggled to achieve growth before they embraced the free market economy.

Why is it so hard for us? Don't know.

I think we all know, why most 3 rd world nations cant find an economic system that works for them or is just beginning to work for them, hint IMF...China has never used the IMF and India has rarely used it, it seems succesful developing nations that have stayed far from it or dont have frequent association with it ar prospering ,show me one that has deepended on it and I will show you a basket case.

South America recent upsurge has all to do with running away from the IMF and finding their own socialist opps capitalist path, never in its history has so many people been lifted out of poverty by following a socialist path..ahhm capitalist.