Top 15 Finest Jamaican Recording Artists?

As I said, I go by what I enjoy(ed) How come Bob Marley don't make dat list? and he, IMO, is one of the, IF NOT THE most "listenable" reggae (Jamaican) artiste to this day...
    and BTW yesterday marked 33 years since he died. RIP.

Historian gave this list very little thought.

Good selections Sass. I hereby submit for inclusion to that list Mr. Prilly Hamilton:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w2NWpGpPX-w
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

As I said, I go by what I enjoy(ed) How come Bob Marley don't make dat list? and he, IMO, is one of the, IF NOT THE most "listenable" reggae (Jamaican) artiste to this day...
          and BTW yesterday marked 33 years since he died. RIP.
          I have a CD Box Set titled: "Story of Jamaican Music". It covers the '60-'90 (maybe a little later) I think.

It's a good compilation of Jamaican music. But like any 'best-of' list--some of the songs are debatable.

I Gave It Much Thought

Historian gave this list very little thought.
            No, Mo, I didn’t give it “very little thought,” except in the case of Dennis Brown.

I stated clearly that this thread was about the most talented Jamaican vocalists, meaning specifics like pitch, tone, range, and so on (please listen to the two YouTube videos I posted above – the Platters and Larnelle Harris - to get an idea of the sort of quality I’m referring to).

In the case of Jamaica, genuinely “gifted” singers like Richie Stephens and Tyrone Taylor and Taurus Riley exemplify what I was referring to. People like these CAN sing!

In other words, this thread is NOT about great Jamaican recording artists!!

Gregory and Derrick must be on my list of top 15 in the top 5,

John
              Dennis
              Gregory
              Sugar
              Barrington
              Jackie Opel- barbadian but he excelled in Jamiacan music.
              Derrick Harriot.

Then i would knick pick as to the next with Peter, Bob and Alton etc etc
              Last edited by Sir X; May 12, 2014, 07:19 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

My 15 in no particular order

1. Jacob "Killer" Miller
                2. Dennis Brown
                3. Maxi Preist
                4. Bunny Rugs
                5. Beresford Hammond
                6. Ritchie Stevens
                7. Ken Booth
                8. Prilly Hamilton
                9. Sanchez
                10.Boris Gardener
                11.John Holt
                12. Freddie McGregor
                13. Bitty McClean
                14.Singing Melody
                15. Coco Tea
                16. Jimmy Riley
                17. Tyrone Taylor

mek me stop now yah.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I like this list Jangle. My only changes would be to find places for Tabby Diamond and Taurus Riley.

Tyrone Taylor bwoy, pity he never made better use of his talent. Cottage In Negril is a classic.

I would also add to the list:

Luciano
                    Everton Blender

Everton Blender???? Can't see why. Only about 1 good album he had.

Well the criteria was "Finest Jamaican Recording Artists" not how many albums.

Was the album that good to you?

Him record these two, which I loved:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfyvSM-6c14

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avlXvb9sBXI

LOL.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                                Note that this Top 15 Finest list is limited to male recording artists. All comments are welcome.

(The recording artists are listed alphabetically here)

Ken Boothe
                                Cornell Campbell
                                Boris Gardiner
                                Beres Hammond
                                John Holt
                                John Jones
                                Pat Kelly
                                Rudy Mills
                                Taurus Riley
                                Sanchez
                                Richie Stephens
                                Tyrone Taylor
                                Vic Taylor
                                Delroy Wilson
                                Ernest Wilson

Clearly space is probably needed for other superb singers like Bob Andy, Dennis Brown, Dobby Dobson, Freddy McKay, etc. Whether we like it or not, compiling a restrictive “Top 15” list can be a bit challenging.

what happen to gregory Isaac ? most of is songs were original . Even RadioHavana paid tribute to him in October 2012 .G I was unique.
                                Last edited by wbvs; May 14, 2014, 09:32 AM.
                                Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                                United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                                happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                                Probably forthcoming...