Invest more in education - Issa

• Invest more in education - Issa

JOHN ISSA, chairman of the SuperClubs Super-Inclusive resorts chain, says he believes the nation needs to pay more attention to the education system in Jamaica, if the society is to move forward.
    Mr. Issa said on the weekend that he believes the future of the nation is in danger if Jamaica does not address its youth.
    He was speaking at the annual awards banquet of the Association of Surgeons in Jamaica, held Saturday night at the Knutsford Court Hotel, New Kingston.
    Breakdown in discipline
    Pointing to several incidents of indiscipline involving the nation's youth, Mr. Issa said a number of factors have contributed to the breakdown in discipline. He attri-buted some of these factors to the urbanisation of the Jamaican society which he said has led to the breakdown in the family structure.
    He said the family is then replaced in the life of the youth by the streets, as parents have to earn a living.
    "The street becomes their home and street life becomes their teacher," Mr. Issa said.
    The SuperClubs boss said he believes that children are short-changed and deviant behaviour as a result becomes a product of all these factors.
    Stop paying lip service
    Mr. Issa is also calling on the two major political parties to stop paying "lip service" to education.
    "Now is the time for action or our island won't have a civilised future," he said.
    Mr. Issa noted that those countries with high standards of living and strong economic bases in the world have sound educational practices and systems and, if Jamaica is to achieve the same, it would have to start investing in its most important resource, its citizens.
    Mr. Issa said the excuse of not having money to fund the education system is not a viable excuse for the current state of the system. Senior medical officer at the Mandeville Hospital, Dr. Peter Wellington, was honoured at the event for his contribution to the field of surgery and health care in the country.

Its clear who more serious! Pity so much poppyshow exist, all dem concern bout is 5th term.

I guess dem wi listen to Issa; look how long mi ah
      preach say JA is danger of being a backwater in the new info age. Well Joshua did have the vision fi ah highly educated society (long before the info age) but dem say him ah eediat. See it deh now chicken ah com to roost, unnuh nuh see nutten yet.

You are such a gig. When yuh serious mek mi know. Yuh call fi improvement in education, but as soon as you hear who more serious about it yuh changed yuh tune ... now its a different day, yuh change yuh tune again. You and yuh circus act really do provide good laughter.

Circus act? Once I asked you to just
          suggest a solution for the ills in ja: your take was that to prevent crime, one shoould restrict the movements of the people from the east to North coast (to the point of having special ID) Now who is the clown? I hear you speak of communist but I ignore you, because you obviously don't know what that word means

BTW do you have any record or past data
            to show that the JLP is more serious about education? They are so serious that they want us to start out with basket weaving. You seriously underestimate the people on the net.

Vision ?

heh, heh. Ah Bwoy... him and the rest of the 3rd World..

BTW do you have any record or past data
                to show that the JLP is more serious about education? They are so serious that they want us to start out with basket weaving. You seriously underestimate the people on the net.
                I deeply respect and would never underestimate the depths of your stupidity.. it is without measure..