• Chinese plan US$3B bauxite/alumina plants

Chinese firm to build new alumina plant in Jamaica
    8:03 pm, Tue May 6, 2014

Phillip Paulwell, Jamaica's Minister of Mining, announced in Parliament on Tuesday that a Chinese company - Xinfa Group Company Limited - will be establishing a new alumina plant in the northern Jamaica parish of St. Ann.

Paulwell, making his contribution to the Sectoral Debate, disclosed that a Memorandum of Understanding, in pursuit of that objective, was signed by the Government of Jamaica and the Chinese company on February 28.

The project will include construction of an alumina plant with production capacity of two million tonnes per year and a coal-fired plant to provide energy for the alumina plant, the Minister disclosed. Those two infrastructure works will involve foreign direct investment of approximately US$3 Billion, he said.

Is this the 'to be fired' Paulwell or another person who leads on encouraging/seeking investments of this magnitude?

Did his ill-advised meddling cause a delay in a critical energy project ?

Coal plant in tourist St. Ann?????

I am sure the Chinese will aggressively manage any potential environmental negatives. Also, the PNP will be vigilant in the protection of Jamaica's environment.

karl, stop it it PLEASE!

bernie madoff made sound financial investments for a time, should he be forgiven for his ponzi scheme because of that? by all accounts vybz kartel was a good father to his children ....

have you seen the landscape littered with "youthful exuberance" scandals associated with this one minister?

So we talking about 3 possible coal plants in Jamaica. One on goat island. One for the Russian bauxite company and one on the tourist north coast and we can't even manage Riverton.

Damn.

So we talking about 3 possible coal plants in Jamaica. One on goat island. One for the Russian bauxite company and one on the tourist north coast and we can't even manage Riverton.

Damn.
                correctamundo...

nicely put together Sass

True,except for Kartel.
                  If anything should prevent Kartel from making decisions potentially costing his freedom?it would be wanting to be there for his children.

Yuh fuss mi !

Coal plant in tourist St. Ann?????

St anns have N . Coast an inland . Di bauxite companies r mostly inland .
                      mek dem spend dem money .
                      Jamaica you mite get a Petroleum well with
                      United Oil by 1.31.26;You also has a NNPC option with the Abuja accord from 2022.What
                      happens then I don't know.A Petrol Well is
                      Probably forthcoming...