Don1... Were you a student when Mr Middleton

• Don1... Were you a student when Mr Middleton

Headmaster at JC? He was also headmaster at Morant Bay HS... and I never knew his first name til now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8x5PbsF_5ZM

William Haydn Middleton -- my cousins started MBH when he was there.

Headmaster at JC? He was also headmaster at Morant Bay HS... and I never knew his first name til now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8x5PbsF_5ZM
      1965 to 1970? If Don was there then I need to call him Uncle Don!!!

based on don2's analytical skills...he probably slept through much of his high school experience

Thanks for this Peter R. As an MBHS student we always heard about the first headmaster Mr Middleton but I can't recall ever seeing even a photo of him. Must have not had too many cameras in Morant Bay back then, LOL.
          Last edited by Islandman; May 7, 2014, 10:12 AM.

Nope but mi ear bout im from di elda dem like Michael Burke

BTW... yuh know di Middleton dem who faada was Commissioner of Babylon ??
            Last edited by Don1; May 7, 2014, 10:57 AM.

Yes... one, Jimmy, was my peer in my form through to fifth... nice guy. I think they moved to Canada. The first time I ever was exposed to rock music was through Jimmy... though I am not a fan of it. I think he played the drums with another of my peers who went to JC, at least I believe they used to "jam" together... see Perry here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LPlXbEgwA8

Nice!
                ...btw - Are you suggesting Don1 is of the Shady Pines batch?

btw - Peter & Don1: There was another band

of JC Old Boys (Was Aggrey Irons a JC old boy?) ...I think the 'fun name' of the band was "Big Belly Man Band". I can only recall two other members - Jimmy Moss-Solomon and Bruce Taylor.

When to some of their sessions. No way were they in the class of the guy you posted. ...but provided 'fun sessions'.

Not at all I know the Don was after my years but I don't think that many after me... I started first form in 1968 while Mr. Middleton was Headmaster, his hair was black and he used to sit up straight... LOL I guess he left when I was in either third or fourth form when Mr Ruel Taylor took over. Mr. M's wife was my Maths teacher in first form and she gave me many a detention as well as banishments to weed the Headmaster's garden. In the video they didn't mention her... she was a very slim woman, very prim and proper and she was an avid supporter of Chambers house...

I remember Michael Burke interrupting Mr. Middleton during a morning assembly with a loud and stentorian "No, Mr. Middleton!", I can't remember what the talk was about but I was a lowly first (or maybe second?) former and didn't understand the politics of the day. I remember the older boys urging us to "boycott" the tuck shop for some sort of protest or another, it could have been over uniforms or length of hair, and I had no clue what "boycott" meant... all I could think of was the cricketer... LOL.

I also remember "Ibo" Cooper (who was maybe in fifth form (?) when I was in first) walking beside Mr. Middleton to the chapel where he played the piano for morning service...

Got yuh!

mi si yuh boss

sarry mi cyaan shed nuh light pon dis boss

PeterR I heard Mr Middleton died a few weeks ago. He was in his mid-90s.

RIP