• Free education revisited

Free education revisited
    published: Tuesday | May 22, 2007

The Editor, Sir:
    I have caught a lot of flack from well meaning and intelligent readers of your paper and would appreciate the opportunity to answer some questions my previous letter may have left too vague or incomprehensible.

Mr. Xavier Allen and others, who have written to me directly, have asked if I could quantify the cost of free education and pointed out the impracticality given the current overwhelming foreign debt and financial situation. In response, please allow me to ask if anyone can quantify the financial cost that the corruption, cronyism and general incompetence of the last 20 years have cost the people of Jamaica?

The Ministry of Education can provide the figures if you need something to work with, but our schools need serious help and the infrastructure of which Mr. Allen spoke would still need to beput in place, so the real dollar amount far exceeds even a current 'Pie in the sky' estimate. Knowing all of this, I still believe that free education and, for that matter, quality health care for ALL Jamaicans are goals that MUST be pursued so the least financially capable of Jamaicans are afforded the same opportunity as the rest. The ability of this country and its people to generate revenue has never been truly challenged. And without a leadership with vision, competence and more importantly discipline, never will be.

What I know
    Here is what I know to be true: (1) The foreign debt payments will be negotiable once foreign investment and local production surges. (2) Foreign investment will surge once we take a serious approach to controlling crime and create an encouraging climate for investors. (3) Crime will go down when jobs are created for the young and an atmosphere of hope replaces the current indifference and despair.

Not so secret is the fact that thousands of 'baby boomer' Jamaicans that live in other countries want to come home but will not, given the current political climate. Many have retired, some will want to invest their knowledge and money in their country and some merely want to come home and die. Most will not come as long as crime rages unabated and, in my view, unchallenged and the competence level of the Government is so poor that their life savings could be wiped out with a single devaluation.

Another not so secret scrap of information that I find interesting is that Jamaica has investment clubs paying their members average 10 per cent monthly interest and instead of getting these gifted individuals to handle some of the government's investments, we chase them to other countries with heavy-handed tactics more akin to communist dictatorships.

So, yes, I do believe we can and will finance free education while increasing the remuneration of teachers and upgrading the schools. No, I don't smoke weed (though that needs to be legalised ... but that's another letter),and yes, I know money is not there right now. Mr. Allen, I am sure you have heard the term 'can't see the forest for the trees'. Jamaica's future (the big picture) is or can be very bright if we can just see past the festering rot in which we sit and shoo the rats eating our children's food.

We did not always have massive debt and believe it or not, that too shall pass. Giving this debt a sense of permanence is what our debtors want us and have brainwashed many of us (the whole current government for example) to do. Creating new investment and outside-the-box solutions to our financial problems, creating jobs and opportunities for our young people, eradicating hard-core crime and tackling the root causes of crime with a sense of urgency, focus and dedication is the Jamaican thing to do.

Do you not believe that if this Government had the capability, they would do it? I do. Light a candle and let us stop cursing the darkness. I believe we all want the same thing but have different realities on what it will take to achieve it. Real madness is watching the same people do the same thing over and over and expecting different results and unfortunately, I suspect that too many of us are mad.
    I am, etc.,
    STEPHEN F. SMITH
    puttus@walla.com
    Black River Via Go-Jamaica

It all come down to priority.

Air Jamaica, Sandals whitehouse, JUTC and cronyism or Education.

so now Ja's education should be
      hinged on speculative markets? The only communism I see is: free education and health care for all. Whne he start talking about affordable quality education and health care I will listen. Crime in Ja still has political undertones. When this man is real serious he will attack crime from it's real roots. Why is it that the present govt. cannot stop crime? Why is it that as the opposition reaches power crime will be stopped dead in its tracks? This is the info age knowledge is now circulating the whole globe.

Jawge is high school education in America free? Is it free in England or Canada? In most other industrialise nation including England and canada healthcare is FREE.

You need to watch Micheal Moore new film Sicko.

You think Manley was a visionary when him gave free education? He was just doing the right thing. You think if he headed the PNP today he would approve of paying for secondary eduction?

That 1cent they put on international call why not use it for free education?

Is ja an industrialized nation? First and
          foremost our education system needs to be revised; where it produces quality students that can compete in the info age. education is free in the US but the quality varies according to the tax paying school districts. I think parents of secondary schools should be getting more bang for their bucks. Most children leaving high schools cannot write a computer program, most don't even understand what is an operating system. Ja needs to change this; we can generate our new middle classs from this sector.A young boy in Philpines is writing a virus code for the net and he is not in college (he learnt programing in a vocational school) When Joshua said free education all labourites said it can't be free that is some communist thing, now why the reversal boss?

Don't make your PNP idioliogy fool you. I would like to know how many other country in the caribbean and central America has this cost sharing? I can bet you not many.

There are many ways the government can pay for this. How you a go learn computers when you can't read?

We seem to have everything backward. Instead of free HEART program why don't we charge the HEART graduates 3% of their salary for the first 3 years so that program can fund itself somewhat and use the money for free education for secondary schools?

Most countries don't have cost sharing instead and we need to get rid of it. You don't have to be industrialise or first world to have free education. I bet you that Phillipino kid you talking about not paying any cost sharing.

so now Ja's education should be
              hinged on speculative markets? The only communism I see is: free education and health care for all. Whne he start talking about affordable quality education and health care I will listen. Crime in Ja still has political undertones. When this man is real serious he will attack crime from it's real roots. Why is it that the present govt. cannot stop crime? Why is it that as the opposition reaches power crime will be stopped dead in its tracks? This is the info age knowledge is now circulating the whole globe.
              Thats the problem, everybody have an opinions, even the halfwits. When Gulianai became Mayor, how come he was able to reduce crime? Time unuh stop acting like idiots and get real. These idiots whey unuh practically worship nuh have a blasted clue, suh nuh come wid yuh fool fool indications that the JLP have what fi duh wid crime.

Which party Bulbly and Zeeks supported? Crime in Jamaica is not political, time you and all the other halfwits learn dat. Why suh much clowns end up a yaad?

Don't make your PNP idioliogy fool you. I would like to know how many other country in the caribbean and central America has this cost sharing? I can bet you not many.

There are many ways the government can pay for this. How you a go learn computers when you can't read?

We seem to have everything backward. Instead of free HEART program why don't we charge the HEART graduates 3% of their salary for the first 3 years so that program can fund itself somewhat and use the money for free education for secondary schools?

Most countries don't have cost sharing instead and we need to get rid of it. You don't have to be industrialise or first world to have free education. I bet you that Phillipino kid you talking about not paying any cost sharing.
                Save yuh time Assasin, Jawge's priority is the PNP and only the PNP. Him nuh give a damn about nothing else regarding Jamaica.

When are you going to
                  come and give an astute answer around here? This one dimensional JLP cheerleading is getty real seedy now.

Cheerleading? I pay attention to data. People like you is happy with what is taking place, yet yuh claim I'm cheerleading? Yuh cannot be serious. Which idiots round here was hyping bout Progress and First World?

Give me the data that shows that
                      your party (JLP) is serious about education. Thanks.

You have to vote them in first, then give us about 8 years to collect data. The last time yuh gave them a chance yuh gave them a country on its knees, pummelled senseless by the PNP.. by the time they got things back on a postive footing yuh kick dem out... History repeating itself, although at least unnuh just remained staganant for 18 years as opposed to killing 25% of the Economy...

Would you like me to give you data that shows the PNP is NOT SERIOUS about education ?