Sending US dollar to Ja.

They won't get USD though

Part of the problem is at Christmas etc. we usually send small checks for people like 30 and 40 dollars. Now imagine if you were to send 30 dollars to 10 people, the cost is a tidy sum.

Thank you for that info though.

The cost to whom? Whose problem is that?

It is a cost to me and I am sure others can relate. It would be easier to send another 50 dollars than give it to the cost of sending. I can also see in economic terms Jamaica losing out on some remittance as it gets harder to send money.

I am 100% sure it was not a personal cheque or a money order
            I am a 100% percent sure it was my personal cheque!!!

what decade was this Karl?

This one!

as far as i know Jamaican banks never accepted personal cheques from foreign banks or money orders...the money has to be wired to the bank directly...and there is a fee for that...
                  Again, I ask if this is something new with Jamaican banks?
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I don't know that to be the case. They have always accepted personal cheques from farin. Just be prepared to wait 2 months for it to clear!