• Politics Violence and Drugs in Kingston

http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/act....x&cookieSet=1

If dat link don't work try dis, den download the PDF

http://www.blackwell-synergy.com/doi...0.2006.00205.x

I'll compare with my real life experience in the ghetto over the weekend.

Thanks!

I'll compare with my real life experience in the ghetto over the weekend.

Thanks!
      But of course, I am not sure how this was even published without first passing that acid test..

Some BBC reporter wrote some crap about Jamaica last week (at least, it was shown on this site last week). Of course there were several truths, but some of it was just way overboard that you really had to wonder about the writer, and the motive.

I hope this one is more factual.

Some BBC reporter wrote some crap about Jamaica last week (at least, it was shown on this site last week). Of course there were several truths, but some of it was just way overboard that you really had to wonder about the writer, and the motive.

I hope this one is more factual.
          "Professor Colin Clarke is an Emeritus Professor at Oxford University and a Senior Research Fellow of Jesus College, Oxford. He has taught at the Universities of Toronto and Liverpool, where he was, until 1981, Reader in Geography and Latin American Studies. He has carried out numerous field investigations in Mexico and the Caribbean and published 100 papers and chapters and more than 12 books.

He is the author of Kingston, Jamaica: Urban Development and Social Change, 1692-1962 (University of California Press, 1975), East Indians in a West Indian Town: San Fernando, Trinidad, 1930-1970 (Allen and Unwin, 1986), and Class, Ethnicity and Community in Southern Mexico: Oaxaca's Peasantries (Oxford University Press, 2000); editor of Society and Politics in the Caribbean (St Antony's / Macmillan 1991); co-author of A Geography of the Third World (Methuen 1983; second edition Routledge 1996); and co-editor of Geography and Ethnic Pluralism (Allen and Unwin, 1984), Politics, Security and Development in Small States (Allen and Unwin, 1987), and South Asians Overseas (Cambridge 1990).

Professor Clarke has been an editor of the Bulletin of Latin American Research, and a member of the editorial board of the Third World Planning Review and the European Review of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. He is currently on the editorial board of the Cahiers d'Outre Mer.

Professor Clarke has been Chairman of the Society for Caribbean Studies (and a Life Member since 2004); President of the European Association for Research on Central America and the Caribbean (Life President since 1988); and Chairman of the Society for Latin American Studies. Between 1998 and 2002 he led a research project entitled 'Decolonizating the Colonial City: Kingston, Jamaica, 1940-1991 (funded by the Leverhulme Trust). He received the Gold Medal of the Royal Scottish Geographical Society in 1999, and in 2003 was lifted up by Sri Chinmoi to mark his contribution to human development issues in Latin America and the Caribbean. In 2004 he was awarded the degree of D.Litt. by Oxford University in recognition of his research and publications on Mexico and the Caribbean.

At Oxford he has been Tutor for Admissions at Jesus College, Chairman of the Faculty Board of Anthropology and Geography, Chairman of the Inter-Faculty Committee for Latin American Studies, and Head of the School of Geography."

Ah wah duh dem man deh.. him coulda write 50 books bout Kingston.. mi ah wait pon di Ghetto Life Story... by Mosiah...

Him coulda emeritus likkle more! I will read his dissertation here and get back to you as to where it falls on the Bill Johnson scale.

Will this be before or after your thesis on why it is impossible for Jamaica to attain > 5% growth in the Medium Term ?

Right after, but I will present my thesis on How to Keep a Forumite in Suspension, first!

What I find compelling about this article;
                  is that the Bucknor school of thought claim that Brasil operates on a different dimension in football. I'm now seeing that Sao Paulo (where a high percentage of brasil's top players hail from) has much in common with Kgn. I'm now forced to ask: could this be the reason why Prof.Simoes had quick success with Ja? could go on with other similarities but let me stop here for now.

Okay, I've finished read Colin Clarke's article and he gets from me a passing grade, a good passing grade. I thought he would have touched on some more issues like extortion and it's implications, but good nonetheless.

This article makes one want to continue voting for the Rasta Party or any party that did not contribute to the mess within which we find ourselves. To be reminded that our horrible gun crimes are directly linked to the actions of our policitians...sad. Hence my continued disgust when I hear that our politicians are still involved. I maintain a zero-tolerance policy towards such behaviour.

The article points out how our police, by their extrajudicial actions, are not solving anything but in fact contributing to it. Yet some of us would still like to see the likes of Reneto out on the frontline. Hey, the emeritus said it not me. The article opines that justice for ghetto people is an important piece of the puzzle.

Thanks for the article! Was it Comment who brought it up?

Yes it was Comment.

The only way out of the Dilema is to destroy the 'crime factories' which means increase the per capita income which means grow the economy which means jobs.. that is the reality.

The other changes need to occur in the constitution and balance of power.. currently the Prime Minister has too much power and separation of powers is also suspect.

Voting for the Rasta party is not going to do that.

I am willing to give 'the other party' a chance to implement the changes which speak directly to the critical issues.

If they get a chance and do not implement the policy changes spoken about THEN I will give up, light up and trod to Buuuul Bay.

I am not insane and will not support doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.. I leave that to Karl and Jawge dem..

ben it's time you look indepth at this
                        article and post some analysis. The article has drawn some serious attention to the inabilty for the govt. to function effectively across the island. We see that if the basic necessities are provided to a community that is pro "another " party it is interpreted as being a traitor. This in turn may hinder the central govt. from distributing telephone, light and water to all areas 9modern age now these aren't luxuries anymore) An oversight is made by saying that the Dons aren't dependent on politicians. They very much do more now than before. Why? If you are arming your citizens and trying to run a state within a state, who will protect you? I see where the educated are exploiting the uneducated and coercing them in one area. I think an initiative should be made by UWI: Offer remedial and college courses to these "Dons" (elementary math, reading, literature, history et al) then over time the will see who is the real and Don and come to know that the were pawns.The mentality of having your own security and police in your community is bordering on entering to the lifestyle of Samolia. We must learn to lay down our arms, user our minds, allow policing to the police force (the bad cops will be rooted, just like the criminals) return to a life where the politicians are really forced to work for the vote. At this time the politicians have it easy; they don't have to do anything. They just play the us against them card or yeah hate that one across the road and we are cool. Only the people can correct this exploitation that started since slavery and I believe that we are in the age to start the correction process.