Who is supposed to pay Opposition Leader's phone bill?

Yuh!
    We are not blind or hypocrites! Certainly we are different from the blind and the hypocrites!
    "We are not blind or hypocrites"

Agreed, you people are blind hypocrites. Read every post you made in this thread? Anyway, I can understand, afterall, it's PNP country .... wha Andrew want phone fi duh?

"We are not blind or hypocrites"

Agreed, you people are blind hypocrites. Read every post you made in this thread? Anyway, I can understand, afterall, it's PNP country .... wha Andrew want phone fi duh?
      Is there any on the government benches whose phone has been disconnected? ...are there any schools that do not receive operational grants on time? ...are there vendors who have not been paid on time? ...are there civil servants who have not received salaries or emoluments on time? ...are there pensioners who have not received pensions on time? ...projects delayed or scraped as 'payments' present 'head scratching'? ...and the list goes on and on.

Make no bones on saying this 'controversy' is raised as a public issue by those wishing to present 'false facts' i.e. lying opinions, or are 'the ignoramuses' or political fanatics. Fortunately there are too many of us who know the facts on governments' efforts to manage their finances and specifically our GOJ years of, within its 'innards', pushing money around as it struggles to keep the country afloat.

Karl that is for the government to show that the phone is been abused if it is, but you can't just not pay it because you don't feel like.
        So?

Karl government move funds around but when people deductible are not been paid that is terrible, people house are been foreclosed and cars been repossessed. That is robbery, not moving funds around.
        Not sure how you are using the word "robbery". You may mean a contract to pay and pay on time has been broken? If so?

Yes!

...as to the pain and suffering it causes?
        I have been in a position to see some of that anguish first hand. I know the pain, Sass. Yes, I do!

btw - As an aside the first time I worked as graduate trained-teacher - Calendar Year 1969-70 - in a government school it took three months to receive my first salary...and another six to collect the outstanding 'back salary'. ...and that after many trips from deep rural Hanover to the Min. of Education offices (Glasspole's Glass House' as it was once termed by firstly the JLP and then all and sundry) at Heroes Circle.

It is not that government owe these people salary. The amount that was deducted from the nurses salary was not paid over to the parties they should have been. That is robbery. The nurses had no idea the money was not been paid to the vendors they owe their cars and house. That is a big difference.

Do you make up these things?
            LOL. Yes Rockman has a very creative mind.

No,do you?
              Please tell me which article mandates the Govtt paying the telephone bill of the opposition,(well at least one of the opposition parties)?

The Leader of the Opposition is an official government position, not a party position.

Maybe being an MP,but thay does not distinguish the leader of the opposition from MP's.
                  The position is acknowledged,it is not appointed by the Govt, it did not get its mandate from having won a national election.
                  The opposition is not the govt,how the leader of the opposition is a govt position?
                  Last edited by Rockman; April 25, 2014, 11:04 AM.

Do you realize that there is a parliamentary position called the leader of opposition????

There is nothing to distinguish the Prime Minister office either. Nobody elected Prime Minister or Minister of Finance. They were selected upon been elected.

There is an office called Leader of Opposition and it can only be filled by an elected MP on the opposition bench. What is your point?

Ah bwoy. Rockman really disappoint me sometimes with his nonsense.

The responsibility of who should pay for the phone line is not debatable. It is an OFFICIAL position required by the Jamaican Constitution, it is not a party position.

Leader of the Opposition

The office of the Leader of the Opposition is established in the Constitution. Jamaica led the Commonwealth of Nations in the enshrinement of this office in the Constitution.

The Leader of the Opposition must be consulted on a number of important matters, such as the appointments of the Chief Justice, the President of the Court of Appeal and the members of the services commissions.

Is it a govt position?

It is an official government position just like the Office of the Prime Minister.

Paid by the govt, yes. The position is not held by the governing PARTY but it is a part of the government.

The office has a government budget and govt staff. Is that not a govt position in your mind?

Ah bwoy. Rockman really disappoint me sometimes with his nonsense.

The responsibility of who should pay for the phone line is not debatable. It is an OFFICIAL position required by the Jamaican Constitution, it is not a party position.
                              ... only Rockman? You didn't see Karl's comments?

The first paragraph reinforces my belief of an unholy alliance between the two major parties.
                                Jamaica led the commonwealth of nations....
                                If Govt is too big then where will the downsizing begin?
                                The office of the leader of the opposition is more symbolic than anything,it acts in its self serving interests.
                                Consulting is vague.