• Columns Goat Islands: A mistake we must not make Alfred

Columns
    Goat Islands: A mistake we must not make

Alfred SANGSTER

Monday, April 21, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

Goat Islands: A mistake we must not make

An agreement has been signed for a Chinese-initiated logistics hub to be developed on the Goat Islands. A forum at the UWI on November 10, 2013 unfortunately cast the development as a war between the environment and development. The battle lines have been drawn as the issue emerges as a critical one for Jamaica. This article reexamines the issues and postulates a win-win situation for Jamaica with the retention of the current multi-user arrangements for the Portland Bight with the development of the Kingston Harbour site as the hub.

The proposed development

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...-make_16502748

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Looks like Alfred Sangster reading my posts.. or is blessed with Critical Thinking..

Don2.. I advise yuh tek a course..

<The Chinese rejection of the Kingston Harbour site for the Goat Islands on the basis that the site was too small is a bogus claim, as the size is no different from the Goat Islands, taking into account the additional land area planned beyond the shoreline. It reflects a clear desire to have an enclave on the islands and the development puts the Chinese as the new colonialists (imperialists).>

Who nuh si dis is eiddah compromised or lacking in the basics of Critical Thinking.. or both !

Breezed thru the article and its flaws based on his misinformation are glaring.... the fact that you gobble up his uninformed conjectures is amusing

1. The Goat Islands project is NOT part of the GOJ "hub" as the guy postulates throughout his thoughtless piece

2. From the info released the project appears to be a mixture of heavy industrial operations focused on assembly, storage and outward deployment of Post-Panamax gantry cranes as well as dredging assets for CHEC regional operations. If so that would require a large coastline which is clearly not available in the KMR

3. Apparently there's also to be a transshipment zone and light industrial complexes... probably extending landside in the Old Harbour?HWY2k zone

4. Someone who is ignorant of the project footprint or the particular operations envisaged is clearly disabled from determining its spatial requirements.... such a person should demand the project details instead of promoting uninformed garbage

For a so-called academic it's inexcusable that the guy bases his arguments on ignorance, not critical analysis of the limited info released.

Your folly however is excused as you have demonstrated no ability for logic or balanced analysis....just tribal yappin

Man call Alfred Sangster 'the guy'...

lol ! woiee !

Yuh is a real claffy.

lol... suh im ah wha? gyal??

yuh mek di captain of di Titanic look like a novice... cling on di sinking ship tight tight !

lol ! woiee !

Looks like Alfred Sangster reading my posts.. or is blessed with Critical Thinking..

Don2.. I advise yuh tek a course..

<The Chinese rejection of the Kingston Harbour site for the Goat Islands on the basis that the site was too small is a bogus claim, as the size is no different from the Goat Islands, taking into account the additional land area planned beyond the shoreline. It reflects a clear desire to have an enclave on the islands and the development puts the Chinese as the new colonialists (imperialists).>

Who nuh si dis is eiddah compromised or lacking in the basics of Critical Thinking.. or both !

When an issue mek di goodly genkleman come out of retirement to write an article...

Still feel the govt is wrong on this and they need to leave Goat Island alone!

I saw that! If I'm not mistaken, Dr. Sangster attended that good school on the hill and for that alone he deserves respect!

Oh ... so that's his weakness. Thanx for the heads up

Seems since you cannot refute my logic...you resort to spouting more rubbish

Doan tap atall Ben

Weakness lakka yuh JC principal!

refute your logic ?

You have presented no logic to refute the position that giving up the Goat Islands in return for a fraction of 10,000 jobs is strategically ill-advised and short-sighted.. beads for land..

The present Govt position on the enclave threat is they will endeavour to put in place some conditions to try and prevent that... and are open to discussion..

lol ! woiee !

What is the rush when the Chinese themselves admit the port will not be operational for at least 5 years.. how dat help wi in the race to support the new Canal ?

refute your logic ?

You have presented no logic to refute the position that giving up the Goat Islands in return for a fraction of 10,000 jobs is strategically ill-advised and short-sighted.. beads for land..
                          Ok... you previously stated that the Goat Islands were positioned to be a "tourism mecca"

Kindly indicate ANY bankable proposal at ANY time for use of the location as a "tourism mecca" or ANY other value adding project .... since you cannot, betta yuh tap yuh foolfool yappin

Show me the money yute Money talks... BullShiiters yap

The present Govt position on the enclave threat is they will endeavour to put in place some conditions to try and prevent that... and are open to discussion..
                          The Termites should be held accountable for this... Keep up di pressha Ben!!!

What is the rush when the Chinese themselves admit the port will not be operational for at least 5 years.. how dat help wi in the race to support the new Canal ?
                          Again yuteman your argument is grounded on logical fallacies and misinformed assumptions

1. A 5 year timeframe to COMPLETE such a large project involving heavy engineering in a greenfield location is quite reasonable. In Jamaican terms that's a rapid build.
                          If you and others wish it delayed for say a couple of years... that would just make it 7+ years or perhaps CHEC will merely take it to some other location like Trinidad.

Neither circumstance is in Jamaica's interest

2. The project is NOT primarily a hub for transshipment like KCT is...
                          This is something that's been stated so it's amazing that you and others continue acting as if it were.
                          It's primarily an industrial facility to support CHEC regional ops....with a light industrial backend

3. Were it even to be primarily a transshipment hub, since CHEC is controlled by the Chinese state and is a critical part of the Chinese supply chain in the region.... the facility will be assured of said Chinese business irrespective of the timeline for the canal expansion... its build out does not have to depend on canal expansion like KCT's does

I tire of educating you on this issue... full time yuh get up to speed yute
                          Last edited by Don1; April 22, 2014, 10:55 AM.

touche

You cannot educate on this matter.. you do not possess the facts or the acumen..

Educated people including Dr. Sangster have arrived at a logical conclusion.

The STATED spin-offs from the project to the JAMAICAN people do not justify the costs.

Jamaica already has a Global Hub project independent of the CHEC project.. I agree with him that the focus should be there.

The Chinese WANT Goat Island.. they do not NEED it to setup the operation they have outlined.

Now stap act like a 10 dollah crack ho...

Chiney raise dem hand and yuh tuck tail... lol ! woiee !

Pathetic.