Is the PNP Socialist or Capitalist?

The doctor, lawyer, entertainer paying no taxes does not bypass it. Some of these uptown criminals even collect the taxes from their employees and then do not pay it over to govt. It happens OFTEN.

The small businessman who has two sets of books does not bypass it.

But yes, if you are in the gun smuggling and cocaine trade maybe you will still bypass it.

It is not just targeting them but it is added to what they have to pay while some people pay little or none. The people who play GCT, education tax, property tax etc. and stick by the rules will feel it the hardest.

Government just use the easy route.

because of cronyism and corruption...lock up people like Paul Burke and see if money doh pay quick...so yeah it I s easy to do if they have the conviction...

Well that is what we elect them to do. That is what they promise to do.

It nuh easy but we elect them to make it happen.

what about the informal commercial set...why you leave them out...audit the white collar ones...do some actual work...

I believe in that to an extent but in that case give the people who paying all the taxes especially the middle class who pay which includes government workers, hotel workers etc.a break to deal with it as they are under a huge amount of stress currently, they feel targeted. They have to pay the raise electricity tax, the raise in bank rate, GTC, PAYE etc. never seem to get a break from the new measures.

Bricktop I am not against any of that. Those need to happen as well, but will they?

I don't agree with the Tax on Bank transactions but I think if it is adjusted it could seem more reasonable. How about appplying some exemptions to the rule. Transactions under 20k exempt or have a category of exemption for people currently paying taxes through the payee system. Now everyone else will be forced to either pay the fee, start paying taxes, or use someone else tax id....that person then will need to later account for all those cash transactions......
                  You see where alll this is going..or at least I hope....go after the money in the system that is unaccounted for

Plush I think that a better argument than I have heard from the other forumites. It is certainly one approach, once it does not get too complicated. The more complicated the rules get the more loopholes there are.

I would be more in favor of a flat exempt limit than trying to tie transactions to PAYE people. 20K is probably too high though.

I pity Hero Peter. The solution is a difficult one, but I trust in his intelligence and judgement, and his love for Jamaica and the Jamaican people.

Mobile Money to the rescue !!

Read above, I made some similar suggestions, Plush went a little further.

you a go push it inna Wheel Barrow??? LOL

Eddie did it.. mi all hear 6% !!

But that was not good enough.. aprantly..

Unnuh know wheh unnuh want ?

Mobile Money brings cashless transactions to da people...

Wallah !