Is the PNP Socialist or Capitalist?

people stealing electricity? put them on a $2000/month flat rate plan & jack up the price to regular paying customers...Paul Burke owe $100,000,000 in taxes? forget about trying to collect it and tax bank withdrawals instead...get the fock ouuta here...all that is going to do s make more people join the informal economy...one step forward...two steps back...

While that is true, we can't have you as the average Jamaican worker as I don think you also pay, PAYE, Education Tax, GCT and all the others to go with while the real value of your pay depreciate with devaluation and Jamaican type inflation.

Maybe he could tax US dollar like deposits or larger deposits.

HAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH....these taxes are on top of the bank charges...where yuh come from?

Is Burke exempt from the deposit tax?

how about just collecting the taxes that are owed? that don't sound more reasonable than charging pensioners a tax to cash dem pension cheque?

I know that, but there is an effort to have them reduced, no?

"Maybe the govt is trying to replace the unusually high bank fees with govt taxes, so the impact on consumers will be negligible"

You can't be serious at all, what effort have they use?? As soon as the banks see profit dipping there is nothing to stop them.

Yes Jamaica is a hard place to collect taxes, I agree but there is if we grow the economy it becomes a little easier. We have to find ways of making the peple who are not paying, pay something. The middle class who are tax payer can't be the main target for the tax man.

no...a "study" showed that we are in line with international banking fees...

Bank deposits tax is by no means just targeting just the middle class taxpayer.

As I have said, Jamaican income earners who do not fall under PAYE pay VERY little income tax. Lawyers, small businessmen, entertainers, etc.

A way MUST be found to make these people pay their faie share of taxes. If we need a higher PAYE tax-free limit to offset that for the working class then by all means lets do that.

Not so according to the tax brackets being implemented,you lose more of your little 5 million than the someone loses from their 20 mill...
                      The banks wouldn't allow the Govt to use on them the very tactic they are known for(pinching as much out of YOUR money)so our Govt decided it is easier to target the customers.Even in that targeting,there is that olive branch...
                      Besides it encourages larger withdrawals,what effect will that have on banks?
                      There is some solace in knowing the prevailing tactic is being employed by the Govt as opposed ti the banks,hence same tactic,but nevertheless The distinction between socialism and capitalism.
                      Not sure if it was well thought out.

If that could be done with some degree of success, then yes, but apparently it cannot.

If the government grow the economy by 3 percent a year...
                          Yuh mek it sound easy eh!

I don't think taxing more is a solution, WIDENING the tax net is a solution.

I am a small govt man generally speaking who prefer lower tax rates because while govt is unavoidable it is mostly inefficient and usually corrupt.

I believe in taxing in a way that is simple to collect and is fair. In Jamaica far too many people who have the means pay no taxes. However dem use cell phone, dem buy gas, dem drive pon road, dem use ATM, etc.

So I say, go collect the taxes at the points where you catch them easily and ease up pon the PAYE people dem.

To answer your question , neither they are a neoliberal consumerist government.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

they aren't widening anything...just putting more burden on thiose who already pay...the informal man bypass the banking system...he doesn't need it...he deals in cash remember...flwaed reasoning being used...