• Is the PNP Socialist or Capitalist?

Government taxes bank withdrawals
    Published: Friday | April 18, 2014 25 Comments

Minister of Finance and Planning Peter Phillips making his Budget presentation in Parliament yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Minister of Finance and Planning Peter Phillips reading a copy of the Rolling Stone Magazine which features Reggae legend Bob Marley, just before making his Budget presentation in Parliament yesterday.

Prime Minister Portia Simspon Miller in discussion with Phillip Paulwell, before minister of finance and planning Peter Phillips made his Budget presentation in Parliament yesterday.

1 2 3 >

Daraine Luton, Senior Staff Reporter

IN ADDITION to fees which some legislators have deemed exorbitant, persons withdrawing monies from deposit-taking institutions will be hit with taxes as of June ,1 as the Government hunts revenue to help it meet its 7.5 per cent of GDP primary-surplus target this fiscal year.

The new tax, which will be a levy on withdrawals from deposit-taking institutions and security dealers, will be calculated on a graduated rate system, with withdrawals less than one million being subjected to a 0.1 per cent tax.

This measure will mean that persons withdrawing $1,000 will have to pay $1 in taxes. Conversely, persons withdrawing a sum greater that $20 million will have to pay a 0.05 per cent tax; those withdrawing more than five million, but less than $20 million will pay 0.075 per cent tax; and those taking one million to five million will pay 0.09 per cent tax.

Finance Minister Dr Peter Phillips said the measure was expected to gain $2.25 million this fiscal year, and would provide the bulk of the $6.7 billion in new taxes which the Government was budgeting to collect this fiscal year.

North East St Andrew Member of Parliament, the Opposition’s Delroy Chuck, commented that the measure represents a “stupid tax” and urged Phillips to reconsider its application.

The new withdrawal tax will apply to electronic banking, point of sales, cheques, and withdrawals at ABM, ATM or ETM as well as over the counter and internet transfers, with the exception of transfers between accounts of the same person in the same financial institution.

Phillips said the tax was to be collected by financial institutions and paid over to the tax authorities on a monthly basis.

The Government is proposing to spend $540.1 billion this fiscal year and is expecting to raise $421.2 billion to go towards its financing. Phillips said loans of $110.9 as well as the utilisation of $1.4 billon, which represents balances in the banking system, will be added to the $6.7 billion in new taxes to finance the Budget.

He further said the Government was projecting to raise $377.6 billion in taxes, which represented 9.8 per cent more than the out-turn last fiscal year. The tax revenue projected is estimated at 23.4 per cent of GDP, and includes $3.2 billion already announced for minimum business tax, the betting gaming and lotteries sector, as well as the tidying up of customs regulations.

Meanwhile, the matter of bank fees is now the subject of examination at the level of a parliamentary committee. A just-concluded study by the local think tank, Caribbean Policy Research Institute (CaPRI), has found that banks have been profiting from fees. The CaPRI findings are in line with a study by the Consumer Affairs Commission which has reported that an analysis of data it gathered on the rates and fees charged by commercial banks in Jamaica for 2009 to 2013 revealed that since 2009, with respect to savings accounts, both the withdrawal and deposit fees at the Bank of Nova Scotia have experienced a 115 per cent increase, moving from $100 to $215.

It said for the National Commercial Bank, withdrawal fees were also increased by 115 per cent, moving from $100 to $215.

The commission said the cost of withdrawing funds from savings accounts at RBC Royal Bank has moved from free in 2009 to $175 in 2013, while the charge for withdrawing from savings accounts at CIBC FirstCaribbean Bank increased by 129 per cent, from $70 in 2009 to $160 in 2013

Not a bad idea. Jamaica has to find ways to make its citizens pay taxes and for the tax net to be spread fairly.

Why you ask that???

triple taxation sounds like a good idea to you? tax me when i get paid & tax me when i take out the money to spend and tax me when i spend the money? okay then

How about finding ways to grow the economy so the taxes don't have that much impact???

I dunno. Something seems very wrong about that move.

Maybe you and the PAYE workers, but the problem is many Jamaicans do not pay any taxes on their income. Ask your dentist, or your lawyer, or your plumber, or....you get the point.

It is not an either/or thing. We have debts to pay and too many people are not paying taxes.

Jamaica need less income tax which is difficult to collect in a predominantly underground economy, and more taxes on things like banks transactions, cell phone usage, property, etc that widens the tax net to everyone and is a more proportional to peoples wealth.

what is GCT? maybe i should ask the future general secretary of the PNP? why you don't petition Obama to tax your bank withdrawals?

But how about getting them? The last time I heard government and opposition was complaining about the bank charges the banks were jacking up on the consumers to make profit so what the government do....

yuh chatting foolishness...it is not my burden to subsidize tax dodgers like the future PNP Secretary Paul Burke...and electricity thieves...wha yuh tek this for?

You know as well as I do that most businesses that deal in cash don't pay the correct GCT.

Obama already collecting NUFF tax from me, which I pay and don't try to bandoolo. I also do banking transactions in JA fairly frequently and I have no problem with the deposit tax.

Good move Peter.

is Paul Burke's security firm a cash business? when them spend the cash dem nah pay GCT?

But Iman the solution is always to tax more, the effort to grow the economy fall flat. If the government grow the economy by 3 percent a year, you know how much additional income they will get??? Every budget a di same thing. Do you realize what the poor person who pay PAYE, Eduction tax, GCT and all these hidden taxes go through while many others paying nothing at all?

while many not paying tax, what incentive does the real middle income tax payer have???? Pay more while income get less while the tax dodgers laugh and get away with it still.

Maybe the govt is trying to replace the unusually high bank fees with govt taxes, so the impact on consumers will be negligible.

I don't like high taxes but Jamaica is a HARD place to collect taxes using traditional methods. Creative ways need to be found. Maybe Peter should bring on Seaga as a consultant as he was brilliant with that kind of thing.