'We have no history of taking bold and imaginative steps'

• 'We have no history of taking bold and imaginative steps'

JAMAICA Observer online readers have weighed in on a call by international drug policy reform advocate, Kasia Malinowska-Sempruch, for the country to move ahead with decriminalising ganja and not fear about any possible backlash from the United States. Malinowska-Sempruch made the call at this week's Monday Exchange. She said Jamaica's sovereignty should be foremost on Government's mind at its moves to decriminalise the weed for personal use. Here are some edited comments:

tyroneosborne

The last statement is definitely not true. Let us say that those on the side of legalising ganja have won the day and it is only a matter of time that all countries legalise weed. Well, by that time, can you say Jamaica will have fair share? Considering what is happening in Mexico right now, do you think that the Mexicans are not going to want a piece of the ''ganja action". Assuming that Jamaica has the lion's share of arable lands for growing ganja, do you not see that the supply of ganja is going to increase quite rapidly?

Without scientific proof, I can go along with the emotional crowd and say Jamaica has a ''special brand of weed". next to none. Are we sure that certain people will not do genetic engineering of ganja to make some wierd strains?

Sanity
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...teps-_16435970

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Jamaica can be leader in ganja research, says Colorado lobbyist
    BY KARYL WALKER Editor — Crime/Court Desk walkerk@jamaicaobserver.com

Wednesday, April 09, 2014

Print this page Email A Friend!

According to Josh Stanley, Jamaica’s two leading universities can collaborate to lead the research on medical marijuana. (PHOTO: AP)

FOUNDER of the United States-based Strains of Hope, Josh Stanley, is urging Jamaica to grab the opportunity to become a world leader in scientific research on the marijuana plant, as the world moves towards the decriminalisation of the plant for medical uses.

Stanley's Strains of Hope is a non-profit organisation formed to assist in the accessing of cannabis.

Speaking at the Jamaica Observer's weekly Monday Exchange, Stanley, a native of Colorado, said the 'economic fruits of ganja are ripe for picking' and a delay to decmiminalise the use of the weed for personal uses could be detrimental to the country's fight to rebuild its ailing economy.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...byist_16430881

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Ganja could boost small businesses, says SBAJ
      BY DONNA HUSSEY-WHYTE Observer staff reporter husseyd@jamaicaobserver.com

(L-R) KYNE... this is an opportunity for the small business person to work in a different way. ABEL... legalisation of marijuana goes beyond the economic value chain

THE Small Business Association of Jamaica (SBAJ) says the decriminalisation of marijuana for personal use could boost the country's economy and provide a number of opportunities for businesses.

"Jamaica is driven by small businesses — small entrepreneurs, creative thinkers and doers — and this is an opportunity for the small business person to work in a different way," said Dee Kyne, social entrepreneur and co-CEO of the SBAJ.

Kyne, who was addressing this week's Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange, said the association would be irresponsible if it did not take seriously the possibilities should Jamaica decriminalise marijuana for personal use.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...-SBAJ_16431284

Young entrepreneur eyes first medical ganja dispensary
        BY JULIAN RICHARDSON Assistant Business Co-ordinator richardsonj@jamaicaobserver.com

Ravn Rae makes a point in discussion at her store, Mez Jamaica, on Devon Road Turn to DISPENSARY on Page 16 in Kingston.

RAVN Rae aspires to launch the first boutique medical marijuana dispensary in Jamaica. But for now, she settles on being just an apparatus supplier complementing an industry still operating outside the law locally.

"Marijuana is not legal, so I cannot have the product in the store," she stressed to the Business Observer when our news team visited her store on Monday.

Rae's store, Mez Jamaica, is one of Kingston's first established alternative smoking supplies shops. Ironically located just a stone's throw away from the Office of the Prime Minister on Devon Road, Mez offers a wide variety of 'pot-friendly' items such as water pipes or 'bongs', chalices and vaporisers.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...nsary_16436028

We are an ignorant lot, that rejects science.

oh yes we do ... garvey, sam sharpe, paul bogle, george william gordon ...... and their reward?

one perfect man walked the face of this earth and his reward? crucifixion. it sound bad but is true.

is it time to revisit my premise of the absolute need for a benevolent dictator? the system we currently have has been a failure and i see no prospect of the culture changing in the foreseable future without some radical change.

We have a whole history or risk takers. Fact is we wake up everyday looking saviors to lead us.

Ganja is the healing of the nation.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Jangle & Gamma

Agreed, the lunatics are running the asylum.

"There is certain to be disaster when the slave becomes the master..."

oh yes we do ... garvey, sam sharpe, paul bogle, george william gordon ...... and their reward?

one perfect man walked the face of this earth and his reward? crucifixion. it sound bad but is true.

is it time to revisit my premise of the absolute need for a benevolent dictator? the system we currently have has been a failure and i see no prospect of the culture changing in the foreseable future without some radical change.
                      If I get the premise of your first 2 sentences correct...from a selfish perspective--their material rewards were indeed poor.

But looking at the bigger picture, your list has individuals who were selfless. They looked at the greater far reaching rewards-- and actually sacrificed themselves for the greater good and for others. For that reason, we still laud their names and effort.

The idea of a domineering type leadership...i fully agree.

We shouldnt laud the service (yapping) but honor it by perpetual implementation of doing whats progressively right,anything else is the documented pattern of abuse in silence.

My point was a bit more, except for Garvey their selflessness say them being killed. Garvey was imprisoned.

Such is the price...dem time deh God walked with men.