Legalise Ganja But Protect Vulnerable

• Legalise Ganja But Protect Vulnerable

In giving his take on the legalisation lobby, Custos Rotulorum of Westmoreland, the Reverend Hartley Perrin, said it was a known fact that ganja did not affect everyone in the same way.

"None can dispute the fact there are some among us who can smoke ganja all day and all night and still perform normally. In fact, perhaps if they didn't smoke, they wouldn't be normal, whereas, there are those who, if they were to take one spliff, it would have debilitating effects on them," the custos said.

"The whole thing has to be looked at carefully. And not because America has now said, 'it's all right', means that it is all right for the world. We tend to follow everything that America does and we don't have certain things in place that they already have," the custos concluded.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../western1.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Dem still deh a de starting block,everybody else is approaching the bend.
    What will we tell Govt to do with the money from taxing weed?
    Last edited by Rockman; April 5, 2014, 10:42 AM.

When you have MD/MP saying anyone who used ganja never amounted to anything in (Jamaica) you see why we are stuck.The implication is ambigous as to how detremental it is for jamaicans.

*Is it that Jamaicans have a genetic gene that ganja leaves them incapable of advancement than other cultures,i.e indians,americans,europeans,latin americans,chinese ?

No wonder people tek wi fi fool.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.