Chinese Businesses Not Helping Sav - Stakeholders

• Chinese Businesses Not Helping Sav - Stakeholders

"One of the realities is poverty. Savanna-la Mar is poor," the educator said. "Eighty per cent of the students at my school come out of Savanna-la Mar and it is dismal. The way they dress tells a whole lot, and they are in need of food.

"They (Chinese) have not volunteered, and if you ask, you are going to meet up on roadblocks," continued Dandy. "And some of the parents of our students are employed by the Chinese, yet they do nothing."

The Government of Jamaica has identified investors from China as key to the revitalisation of the local economy, and there appears to be a concerted effort to attract additional investment from China amid constant criticism from local interest groups.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../western2.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mendicants forever...

Di Chinese nuh hear bout our communist philosophy ?

why the black owned Jamaican businesses don't tek up the slack

I think there must be laws which prevent them from doing that. That is the only explanation for a statement like this:

...Chinese and Indians in the town who have literally displaced all the locals who normally would have been doing business
        See, the locals would normally be doing business, but the Chinese "displaced" them. What a piece a wickedness!

You can only be "displaced" if you allow yourself to be displaced....

I guess the chinese and indians must be laughing at 'us' Blacks--and saying to themselves..."what a set of friggin' worthless idiots..........."

When has Sav's economy ever been robust?
            Never!

What are the drivers of the local economy?
            There was never a 'roaring' construction industry!
            There was never a 'roaring' real estate market!
            There was never any industry outside of the sugar industry!
            Nice laid-back place where I enjoyed many, many of the earliest of my years. Friendliest of people! Happy fun-filled years... Many great friends...but...???

Yeah?
            Laid-back, slow-paced life! That was and is it!!!!

Yuh sound like LKY describing Jamaica in 1975...

The Savanna-la-Mar economy was very robuts in the 70's and earlier King Karl.

You should remember when sugar was King in Westmoreland. Frome Sugar Company processesd the sugar and the Wharf in Sav had the off- shore shipping. (My Dad was manager at the Wharf).

There was a second wharf in Sav, called Baram Wharf --where the many sugar transporting barges and 2 Tug-Boats (Fanny and Fiona) were maintained when dry docked or welding repairs were done. Baram Wharf and the sugar shipping wharf employed nearly 1/3 (or more) of Sav-la-Mar population.

Recall also Karl that the sugar was transported by many specialized Sugar-Trucks from Frome to Sav. This was further employment for drivers. Trickle-down employment for maintaining these trucks was done by George Wallace garage that employed lots of mechanic....

Sav-la-Mar had all strata of society incl. a vibrant upper, middle class citizens. Savlamar today looks like the streets of Calcutta; a faaaar cry from the days I ran around as a little whippersnapper.

The Jamaican Economy was a failure prior to the enlightend years of Socialism..

Yuh not paying attention ?

I can address ONLY my experiences Prince Maudib.

I am not entrenched in Jamaican politics nor associated to either party.

I recall the economy in Sav-la-Mar was very robust (back in the days)--and that's all I have to say about that.

Similar sentiment you see share on here bout our local businessmen and yet still people like Butch Stewart invest back some a Jamaica, give back bigger donation than most foreign business, yet we cry them down everyday and rather foreign investors.

Who are these investors anyway? We thing foreign investors are always people with a long pocket of money who just have to invest. In Jamaica we don't see our small business people as investors, we don't see our pension fund managers as investors, instead they are considered hustlers so we give all incentives to "overseas investors" because they are going to give us a few "jobs' but we don't consider the fact that they will be taking back our money and return on their capital. There main incentive is not to give back to the community but to secure a profit and make sure they get their invested capital back in the shortest time and more, they have no family, no other real interest in Jamaica.

True Sass and these investors (chinese & indians) are modern day immigrants in truth, dont see themselves as part of the long term development of Jamaica, their 2nd and 3rd generation kids will,if they decide to stay, some will, some will not.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.